Heading Logo

Newcomerstown cemetery levy defeatedTuscarawas County selects Governor Romney

Niki WolfeNewcomerstown News Published: November 14, 2012 12:00 AM
  • 1 of 1 Photos | View More Photos

Residents in Newcomerstown rejected a proposed additional tax levy for maintaining and operating village cemeteries last Tuesday.

The 1.5-mills levy would have generated approximately $70,000 a year and would have helped the village correct financial shortfalls in the cemetery fund.

The levy was defeated 731 votes against the levy to 512 votes for the levy.

Newcomerstown Mayor Jim Friel said the passage of that levy would have helped the village get one step closer of coming out of fiscal emergency. The village was placed in fiscal emergency back in October by the State Auditor's Office because of the negative balance in the village's cemetery fund.

He said the Financial Planning and Supervision Committee will be determining what the village needs to do get out of fiscal emergency. He said the committee will consist of three citizens (appointed by Governor John Kasich), three individuals from the State Auditor's Office, Mayor Friel, the Village Fiscal Officer, and the President Pro Tem of Council.

[Article continues below]

He said the group's first meeting is set for December.

He also predicts that a cemetery levy will be back on the ballot come the spring.

"It's one of the options that's on the table," Mayor Friel said.

Meanwhile, Tuscarawas County voters selected Governor Mitt Romney and Paul Ryan over President Barack Obama and Vice President Joseph Biden with

21,420 votes for Romney/Ryan and 17,516 votes for Obama/Biden.

[Article continues below]

In terms of other issues on the Tuscarawas County ballot, the following unofficial results were announced:

Village of Baltic (tax levy replacement for current expenses in the amount of 2-mills, commencing 2012 and first due 2013) -- For 160 and against 93.

Village of Gnadenhutten (tax levy renewal for current expenses in the amount of 3-mills, commencing 2012 and first due 2013) -- For 436 and against 144.

Village of Port Washington (tax levy replacement for maintaining and operating Union Cemetery for 0.6-mills, commencing 2012 and first due 2013) -- For 130 and against 62.

Village of Port Washington (tax levy replacement for current operating expenses for 3.8-mills, commencing 2012 and first due 2013) -- For 122 and against 71.

Two statewide issues were on the ballot for Tuscarawas County voters:

State Issue 1 -- No 26,740 votes and yes 8,776 votes.

State Issue 2 -- No 24,970 votes and yes 10,523 votes.

In terms of candidates, the following were elected:

United States Senator -- Josh Mandel (R), 19,193; Sherrod Brown (D), 17,168; Scott A. Rupert, 2,486.

Representative to Congress (6th District) -- Charlie Wilson (D), 5,253; Bill Johnson (R), 4,408.

Representative to Congress (7th District) -- Bob Gibbs (R), 17,598; Joyce R. Healy-Abrams (D) ,11,512.

State Representative (96th District) --Joshua E. O'Farrell (D), 20,950; Al Landis (R), 17,847.

Tuscarawas County Commissioner (Jan. 2, 2013) -- Chris A. Abbuhl (D), 26,777.

Tuscarawas County Commissioner (Jan. 3, 2013) -- Belle Everett (D), 18,633; Shane N. Gunnoe (R), 18,454.

Tuscarwas County Prosecuting Attorney -- Ryan Styer, 27,805.

Tuscarawas Clerk of Court of Common Pleas -- Jeanne Stephen (D), 21,232; Nicholas A. Homrighausen (R), 15,604.

Tuscarawas County Sheriff -- Walter R. Wilson (D), 24,758; Gerry Mroczkowski (R), 13,805.

Tuscarwas County Recorder -- Lori L. Smith (D), 28,091.

Tuscarawas County Treasurer -- Jeffery S. Marmarella (D), 29,184.

Tuscarawas County Engineer -- Joe Bachman (D), 28,761.

Tuscarawas County Coroner -- James G. Hubert (D), 28,483.

State Board of Education (9th District) -- Stephanie Dodd, 17,999; Larry A. Good, 5,441; Phillip Gerth, 3,375.

Justice of the Supreme Court (full term beginning Jan. 2, 2013) -- Terrence O'Donnell, 20,958; Mike Skindell, 7,653.

Justice of the Supreme Court (full term beginning Jan. 2, 2013) -- William M. O'Neill, 16,487; Robert R. Cupp, 11,932.

Justice of the Supreme Court (full term beginning Jan. 31, 2014) -- Sharon L. Kennedy 18,551; Yvette McGee Brown, 9,971.

Justice of the Court of Appeals (5th District and full term beginning Feb. 9, 2013) -- John W. Wise, 24,383.

Judge of the Court of Appeals (5th District full term beginning Feb. 11, 2013) -- Patricia A. Delaney, 17,843; Jeanette Moll, 9,092.

Judge of the County Court (Southern District) -- Brad L. Hillyer, 7,064.

Overall, a total of 40,272 votes were cast in Tuscarawas County last Tuesday.

Rate this article

Do you want to leave a comment?   Please Log In or Register to comment.