Heading Logo

Tuscarawas County Junior Fair Dairy exhibitors recognized at banquet

Esther M. SilviusCorrespondent Published: December 19, 2012 12:00 AM
  • 1 of 2 Photos | View More Photos

SUGARCREEK -- The 25th annual Tuscarawas County Junior Fair Dairy Banquet was Nov. 19 in Dutch Valley Restaurant at Sugarcreek.

More than 200 members, parents, dairy product buyers and other program supporters attended the event. Special recognition was given to eight, nine, 10, 11 and 12 year 4-H dairy club members.

Swiss cow bells were presented to eight-year dairy program members. This year's recipients were: Dallas Clarke, Michael Crawford, Quenten Fabiano, Kurt Finton, Shane Gaskill, Clay Hershberger, Alyssa Lautzenheiser, and Clinton Steel.

Colton Harstine and Mallorie Henry were honored as nine-year members; Brent Beach and Joelle Miles, 10-year members; Clarissa Mutti and Ryan Powell, 11-year members, and Sue Feller, 12-year member.

The recognition is for 4-H members who have exhibited dairy projects each year exhibiting breed champions this year were: Ryan Powell, Kurt Finton (2), Sue Feller, Reed Anderson, Rachel Anderson (2), Henry Specht, Stephanie Steel, Victoria Deam, Clay Hershberger, and Clinton Steel (2).

[Article continues below]

Showmanship winners were: Clay Hershberger, Supreme; Mercedes Sisson, Stephanie Steel, Ryan Harding, and Andrea Beamer, first place; Colton Harstine, Kari Harding, Rachel Anderson and Brittany Finton, second; and Ryan Powell, Sara Donato, Jaden Steel, and Lexi Beitler, third.

Also recognized were 47 interview judging award winners. Lexi beitler and Noel Mutti received notebook awards.

Interview judges recognized for their work were Julie Beach, Shannon Beavers, Amy Donato, Charlie Finton, Dan Lautzenheiser, Lorrie Lautzenheiser, Mallory Snyder, Nicole Snyder, Paul Snyder, Megan Steel, and Stacey Steel.

It was reported there were a total of 70 dairy project exhibitors with 116 projects.

Steve and Michele Specht received the traditional Bonnie Mohr framed farm print. Each county fair dairy product purchaser present at the banquet received a special gift in an elimination drawing to determine the winner of the print.

[Article continues below]

It was mentioned that the first dairy product sale held 25 years ago brought in $17,000 while the sale held at the 2012 Tuscarawas County Fair made a total of $ 115,000 for the benefit of the dairy program.

It was noted that the sale has served as a pattern for other counties who have since initiated dairy sales for the benefit of their 4-H dairy project exhibitors.

Members of the current 4-H dairy committee are Karen Loveday, president; Dan Donato, vice president; Craig Powell, treasurer; Lorrie Lautzenheiser, secretary; Reb Billman, Steve Cronebaugh, Charlie Finton, Ann Gano McCleary, Debbie Gerber, Bobby Harding, Jared Harding, Cathy Harstine, Kirk Henry, Neil Deam, Tim Sigrist, Paula Steel and Chris Zoller.

Elected to the dairy committee during the meeting were Shannon Anderson Beavers, Neil Deam, Dan Donato, Karen Specht, and Sonya Quillen.

Lorrie Lautzenheiser gave the educational report and told about the annual dairy trip. The 2012 trip included a visit to Niagara Falls and two area dairy farms-one a conventional farm and the other an organic farm.

A 25th anniversary bench, donated by Kuester Implement, at the 2012 Tuscarawas County Fair was auctioned and purchased by the Democratic Party, with the funds to be used for fairground improvement.

Also recognized were area organizations and businesses donating to the dairy program, including Walnut Creek Cheese, Swiss Village Bulk Store, Smith Dairy, Sugarcreek Interiors, The New Company, Reiter Dairy, Mako's Market, Buehler's, Sweetwater Farm, and Harstine Dairy Farm, all certificates; Broad Run Dairy, Guggisburg Cheese Inc., Heini's Cheese, Yaggi Cheese, Pearl Valley, Brewster Dairy and Alpine Cheese, cheese. Tuscarawas County Dairy Farmers donated milk; Maryland Virginia Co-op donated butter; BD Gerber donated donuts; and Bull Country Compost and Carlene Farms donated sawdust.

Dutch Valley Restaurant received special recognition for co-sponsoring the banquet.

Also recognized were auctioneers Steve Cronebaugh, Stewart Hershberger, Dave Kaufman, Brennon Wallick and Wendall Wendling, and clerks Don and Janet Kemp, Lynne Wise, Dave McCleary, Ann Gano McCleary and Craig Powell.

Ryan Powell gave the welcome. Mercedes Sisson introduced guests. and Karen Loveday asked the invocation.

Rate this article

Do you want to leave a comment?   Please Log In or Register to comment.