Heading Logo

Impromptu acapella choir performance at Ridgewood meeting

Published: March 29, 2017 12:00 AM

The Ridgewood Local School District met in regular session Monday, March 20. All members were present. Board President Marty Feldner called the meeting to order and The Pledge of Allegiance was given. Minutes of the Feb. 27 meeting were approved. The Treasurer's report was given by Treasurer Jay Tingle and approved by the Board.

The Board, Administrators, and visitors were surprised by an impromptu performance by the Acapella Choir from Ridgewood Performing Arts Center. Two selections were performed and enjoyed. Choral Director Haley Evans directed the group. Administrative reports were given by Todd Stoffer, High School Principal, Trista Claxon, Middle School Principal, and Lori Cabot, West Lafayette Elementary Principal.

Commendations and congratulations were given to the following students:

Band: Joey Orand and Ryan Moses: Participating with Ohio State Middle School Band Festival.

Choir: Kyla Geer and Nathan Moses: Selected and Performed with Ohio Music Education Assoc. All State Choir.

[Article continues below]

Participants with Columbus Children's Choir Choral Festival: Kelly Masloski, Haylee Kinsey, Dakota Kealiher, Emily Fechuch, Claire Mayse, Allison Edie, Zander Brenneman, Katelyn Scott, Kya Masloski, Logan Fechuch, and Zoey Alan.

Girls Basketball: Audrey Tingle 1st Team All-Ohio Div. III, East District Div. III Player of the year, East Dist. 5 Coaches Assoc. Div. III Player of the year, 1st Team IVC. East District All Star Game Player on March 31, Erinn Buchanann East Dist. Div. III Special Mention, 2nd Team IVC. Autumn Brown East Dist. Div. III Honorable Mention, IVC Honorable Mention. Eliza Haynes East Dist. Div. III Honorable Mention.

Boys Basketball: Keith Leindecker East Dist. 2nd Team, 1st Team IVC, East Dist. All Star Game Player on March 31. Chase Griffith Honorable Mention IVC.

Wrestling: Colton Bethel All Ohio Wrestler, State Qualifier -5th place (106 lb. wt. class), District Qualifier, IVC Wrestler of the Year, 1st Team IVC (Individual Champion). Javon Merrill State Qualifier, District Qualifier, 1st Team IVC (Individual Champion). Kasey Bethel All Ohio, State Qualifier, District Qualifier, 1st Team IVC (Individual Champion). James Kedigh State Alternate, District Qualifier, 1st Team IVC (Individual Champion). Tyler Caudy State Alternate, District Qualifier, 1st Team IVC (Individual Champion). Nathaniel Thompson State Alternate, District Qualifier, 1st Team IVC (Individual Champion). Jason Stubbs District Qualifier, 1st Team IVC (Individual Champion). Kevin Bethel District Qualifier, 2nd Team IVC.

The Superintendent's Report was given and approved the following actions: Accepted the March Substitute List; certified Retirement of Brenda Metzger on May 31; classified Retirement of Helen Duffy effective June 30, 2017; classified Retirement of Beverly Gross effective May 31, 2017; classified Retirement of Jerold Ball effective May 31, 2017; FMLA Leave of employee beginning on or about April 3, 2017; classified Substitutes for 2016-2017 school year Erica Gress, Jayson Brickles and Bridget Hasham; supplementals to: Thad Youngen for RMS Asst. Track Coach and Dan Smith RHS Asst. Girls Track Coach; supplemental Bus Route as presented: Ernie Yoder retro to 2-18-17 Monday and Wednesday 2 hrs. daily; volunteers: Rodney Merce Ag/FAA Programs; Thad Youngen RHS Track; Joe Holmes RMS Track; Caleb Tingle RHS Baseball; sale of International 65 Passenger Bus.

Old Business: Update Calendar for 2017-2018. Update on the RHS Media Center.

The next meeting is Monday, April 24 at 7 p.m. at the Administrative Building, 301 S. Oak St., West Lafayette.

Rate this article

Do you want to leave a comment?   Please Log In or Register to comment.