The Cy Young Days Festival Committee is once again bringing another Cy Young Award winner to its festival this year.

The committee has secured Michael Francis "Mike" McCormick as its featured Cy Young Award winner.

McCormick, born in 1938, was awarded the Cy Young Award and The Sporting News Pitcher of the Year in 1967 when he played for the San Francisco Giants.

"We are really happy he's coming here," said Cy Young Days Festival Chairman Janet Chaney.

McCormick played for the New York Giants from 1956 to 1958, then the San Francisco Giants from 1958 to 1970. He played for the New York Yankees in 1970 and then the Kansas City Royals in 1971.

In 1956, he became one of the most hyped rookies in history after posting a 49-4 American Legion record at age 17, including four no hitters and a 26 strikeout game. Though he struggled with his control for the first few years of his career, he later became one of the best pitchers in baseball. He led the league in ERA in 1960. McCormick also hit the 500th home run by a pitcher in baseball history (and also gave up Hank Aaron's 500th career home run in 1968). McCormick was a member of the National League All Star Team in 1960 and 1961.

McCormick currently conducts fantasy camps for the San Francisco Giants, with other former Giants. He married Carolyn Koehler in 1956. They have four children, Susan, Michael Jr., Matthew and Stacy. He married Dierdre Hodge in January 1986. They have one daughter, Tara.

The Cy Young Days Festival, which is slated for June 21-23, pays homage to Newcomerstown's hometown hero, Cy Young, and the game he loved.

Other highlights of the festival this year will be a Hit-a-Thon, Cy Young Run, pedal tractor pull, bands, merchandise vendors, food stands, Queen's Contest, car show, basket auction, Grand Parade, and luncheon featuring McCormick as the guest speaker.

In year's past, the committee has brought in former Cy Young Award winners including Len Barker, Kevin Ritz, Rich Rollins, Gaylord Perry, Ferguson Jenkins, Dean Chance, Jim Perry, Vern Law, Bob Turley and Denny McLain.

To learn more about the festival, visit