The Newcomerstown Board of Education recently held their annual organizational meeting on Jan. 11. Randy Addy was nominated as this year's Board President, and Steven Brode was nominated as Vice-President. Both Addy and Brode accepted their nominations and were then approved by the other Board members. Addy also later accepted two other positions for the 2017 calendar year, one as Board of Education OSBA Legislative Liaison, and the other as Board of Education OSBA Student Achievement Liaison.

The following Board committees were established for 2017: Finance: Dave Archer, Tom Addy; Transportation: Tom Addy, Steven Brode; Buildings & Grounds: Tom Addy, Steven Brode; Lee Stadium: Randy Addy, Dave Archer; Policy & Curriculum: Randy Addy, Arlene Mayhew; Negotiations, Certified: Dave Archer, Arlene Mayhew; Negotiations, Classified: Randy Addy, Tom Addy; Negotiations, Alternate: Steven Brode; Athletic Council: Arlene Mayhew, Steven Brode; Music Council: David Archer, Tom Addy; Tax Incentive Review Council: Dave Archer; Wall of Honor: Randy Addy, Arlene Mayhew; Safety: Randy Addy, Dave Archer.

The law firm of Squire, Sanders, and Dempsey, and the law firm of Scott & Scriven, LLC were both approved to be retained as legal counsel for 2017. Squire, Sanders and Dempsey, LLP was also approved to be retained for any school construction bond issues in 2017.

The Board also approved to change the regular sessions to the third Monday of each month starting in March. The next regular session is scheduled for January 18 at 6:30 p.m., and due to the President's Day holiday in February the regular meeting for that month was agreed to be held on February 13. The meetings will continue to be held at Newcomerstown High School in the Conference Room.

The following students were recognized as December Students of the Month: West Elementary - Briley Little, Marissa Watson, and Ayla Norman. Recognitions were given by Principal Erin Peoples; East Elementary - Wesley Schilling, First Grade, son of Warren & Randi Schilling. Recognitions were given by Principal Tim Sherman.