January is the month of recognition for school board members, with that being said the Newcomerstown Board of Education members were recognized at the Board's regular session held on January 18. Superintendent, Jeff Staggs recognized each member of the Board, namely, Randy Addy, Tom Addy, Dave Archer, Steven Brode, and Arlene Mayhew for their dedication to the Newcomerstown Exempted Village School District.

Additionally, Students of the Month were recognized for the month of December: Carrie Warmoth, first grade, parent Amanda Greenwood; Natalee Frenton, second grade, parents Brian & Jennifer Frenton; Chase Boltz, third grade, parents Jim & Carol Boltz; Jayden Swisher, fourth grade, parent Dawn Mencini; Matthew Stevens, fifth grade, parents Darrell & Darci Stevens; Zoey Mathews, fifth grade, parents Renee Schlupp & Ron Mathews; Clint Durben, sixth grade, parent Robert Durben; Brianna Robinson, seventh grade, parent Michelle Robinson; Tyler Maddox, eighth grade, parents Shawn & Mary Maddox; George Brode, NHS Senior, parents Steven & Amanda Brode.

Business discussed later by the Board included:

East Elementary Principal Tim Sherman thanked the following for donation of shoes, hats, gloves, and pizzas for East students: Victory Church, St. Paul Evangelical Lutheran Church, and Dominos Pizza

Kindergarten registration will take place at the West Elementary School on April 20-21.

Art Show will be held at West Elementary on May 11.

NHS Principal, Matt Fockler reported that ACT test will be administered on March 21.

Superintendent, Jeff Staggs discussed the graduation requirements and the point system that has been mandated by the state.

Substitute pay rate was approved to be changed from $75 to $85/day, with an increase to $100 for retiree and Newcomerstown alumni substitutes, effective January 1, 2017.

The Board approved the hourly rate of pay for substitute secretaries, Instructional aides, Cafeteria, and Custodial Staff. The new hourly rate of $8.15/hour is effective for January 1, 2017. This is the newest minimum wage for the state for 2017.

Mileage reimbursement was approved at a rate of 53.5 cents per mile, effective for January 1, 2017.

Tuition reimbursement was approved for Jeremy Lute, Google Classroom course, Walsh University, and Kim Miller, Games that Work: Lifelong Healthy Habits, Malone University.

The Board approved acceptance of a donation of $376 from the Moose Lodge #1337. The donation will be added in the special cost center in the general fund.

Board approved membership of Record's Commission, and the meeting date of February 13 at 6 p.m. prior to the regular Board session.

Second reading regarding Board policy updates was given.

OSBA 2017 membership, and OSBA Legal Assistance fund was approved.

School Calendar Public Hearing for 2017-2018 school year was approved.

Stephanie Richter was approved for a leave of absence effective for November 1, 2016- January 2, 2017.

Sue Lewis, High School Media Center aide was approved for retirement, effective March 1, 2017.

Paul Miller, High School Science Fair Director, half stipend, was approved for resignation effective January 13, 2017.

Lee Fish, approved for Assistant Softball Coach at a salary of $2,119.