Members of the Newcomerstown Board of Education recently hired a new principal for the East Elementary, and an assistant principal for the high school, both positions effective starting with the 2017-18 school year.

Brian Collins was hired as Principal and Buildings & Grounds/Transportation Supervisor at the East Elementary with a three-year contract at a yearly salary of $80,000.

Dirk Gadd, who was recently hired as the High School Football Coach, was hired as Assistant Principal with a three-year contract at a yearly salary of $60,000.

Other business discussed April 17, 2017, at the regular Board session included:

The following students of the month were recognized: Damon Gray, Nelson Moubray, Zane Popadak, Jaelyn Weingarth, Camryn Hunt, Payton Bruce, Kaylee Ringer, Ashley Russell, and Morgan Burtscher.

Board approved tuition reimbursement for Lisa Thomas, Engagement Through Technology, Walsh University, 3 semester hours. Angela Decaminada and Tara Supers, Northeast Ohio Blitz: OEP Energy Project, Ashland University, both received 1 semester hour.

Board approved the NHS Class of 2017 graduation list. Graduation is scheduled for May 28, 2017.

Board approved a resolution authorizing H.E.A.T Total Facility Solutions, Inc to submit to the Ohio School Facilities Commission on behalf of the school district for approval to participate in the school energy conservation financing program (HB264).

Board approved student accident insurance through Trust Life Insurance Company for voluntary student accident coverage for the Newcomerstown Exempted Village Schools for 2017-18. The coverage is available for students to purchase and is at no cost to the school board.

Board approved the resignation of Walt Cerrato as Girl's Varsity Basketball Coach, effective March 28, 2017.

Board approved maternity leave for Rebecca Depuy, effective July 29, 2017. The approval is for a six-week maternity leave, plus six-week unpaid family medical leave.

Board approved for Dr. Jeff Burrier to perform physicals for the bus drivers at a cost of $50 per driver, effective for the 2017-18 school year.

Non-Renewal extracurricular contracts were approved for the following: Alan Fish, Brad Lineback, Tim Davis, Chris Miller, Tim Kilpatrick, Mario Lovrinic, Chuck Eicholtz, Lindsey Youngen, Tara Klosinski, Devan Belt, Jerichoe Jones, Darren Warner, Tiffany Shaw, Alisha Wilson.

Supplemental contracts were approved for the following: Jamie Lewis, Joel Hillwig, Andrew Hall, Tara Supers, Steven Pritchard, Jason Leggett, Rachel Bowers, Adam Lefler, Beth McCune, Cathy Ringer, Sally Lenhoff, Walter Hines, Stephanie Richter, Angie Cabot.

The following were approved as 2017-18 LPDC (Local Professional Developmental Committee) representatives: Nathan Mayes (East Elementary), Angie Cabot (West Elementary), Cathy Ringer (Middle School), Lorraine George (High School), Erin Peoples (Administrative), Christie Green (Administrative), Jeff Staggs (Administrative), and Ellen Hooker (LPDC Clerical/Secretarial Duties).

School Board entered into executive session to discuss compensation of personnel, no action was taken.

The next regular school board session is scheduled for Monday, May 15, 2017, at 6 p.m.