During the regular session of the Newcomerstown Exempted Village School Board of Education, several students representing a group identified as S.T.A.N.D (Students Taking A New Direction) were in attendance.

The group's reason for attending the Board session was to give a presentation to the Board members and teaching staff, encouraging a 100% tobacco free school policy to be adopted by the school district. The presentation was comprised of information concerning statistics with tobacco use and the adverse effects on the user, and others exposed to the second hand smoke.

The group's project coordinator, Amy Miller of Family Counseling, was also present, and requested a brief survey be completed by the Board members and teaching staff that is necessary for a grant that is being pursued for the tobacco free policy program. Miller later reported that the group's student members will be involved in further surveys, and assessments throughout the community to support the policy.

Items discussed during the May 22, 2017 regular Board session included:

The following students were recognized as Students of the Month: Colton Rose, Abby Cool, Chance Warren, Evan St. John, and Jordan Sanders.

A donation of $233 from the Moose Lodge #1337 was approved, and will be placed into special costs within the general funds.

Tuition reimbursement was approved for: Joel Hillwig, for Engagement Through Technology, Walsh University. Angela Decaminada, and Tara Supers, both for Ohio Oil & Gas Energy Education program, Ashland University.

Board approved membership for the Ohio High School Athletic association for the 2017-18 school year.

Board approved the resolution to authorize H.E.A.T Total Facility Solutions, Inc. to submit request to Ohio School Facilities Commission for approval to participate in the school energy conservation financing program. This will eventually be an energy savings of approximately $200,000 a year for the school district.

The 2017-18 Parent-Student Handbooks were approved for East & West Elementary, Middle School, High School, and Athletic Department.

Board approved Athletic Training Services Agreement between Union Hospital Association and Newcomerstown School District.

A three year administrative contract was approved for Jason Peoples, Middle School Principal. Terms, and benefits remain unchanged. Contract effective 8/1/2017- 7/31/2020.

A three year administrative contract was also approved for Mark Wolff, Athletic Director. Terms, and benefits remain unchanged. Contract effective 8/1/2017- 7/31/2020.

Kendra Gerber, High School Guidance Counselor, and Sascha Durben, Library/Media Specialist, were approved for extended service contracts for the 2017-18 school year.

Jason Peoples was approved as Resident Educator Director for the 2017-18 school year.

Christine Olinger was approved for a six week maternity leave, and four weeks of FMLA during the 2017-18 school year.

Resignation approved for Nicholas Page, Chemistry and Physics, High School, effective for May 31, 2017.

Retirement approved for Kim Miller, Elementary Phys Ed, effective for August 1, 2017.

Rick Sattler, Dean of Students, contract was approved for the 2017-18 school year.

Chase Addy was approved for hire as High School Phys Ed on limited contract for the 2017-18 school year.

Janel Travis was approved for transfer from Fifth Grade Intervention Specialist Teacher to Elementary Phys Ed Teacher for the 2017-18 school year.

Teachers: Nathan Mayse, Kindergarten, and Sarah Johnson, First Grade, were approved for summer school employment for twelve days in July-August.

Teacher, Denise McDonnell, Third Grade, was approved for summer school employment for total of twenty hours.

Contracts were approved for the following certified personnel: Kendra Gerber, Andrew Hall, Josh Lahmers, Mark Lane, Jason Leggett, Kristen Meeks, Tim Rogers, Michelle Schneider, Julian Vasquez, Jennifer Baker, Lana Cushman, Ryan Hendershot, Walter Hines, Tyler Kiner, Jamie Lewis, Scott Rader, Ashley Brooks, Tara Supers, Cassidy Campbell, Traci Gardner, Sara Johnson, Lydia Quillen, Danelle Simmerman, Julie Beitzel, Walter Cerrato, Matt Davis, Taylor Haney, Robb Hendershot, Shannon Heston, Samantha Jones, Katrina Miller, Brittany Moore, Christine Olinger, Pam Romer, Tracy Rominger, Samantha Seibert.

Resignation was accepted for Kimberly Wilkin, West Elementary Cafeteria, effective for May 30, 2017.

Contracts were accepted for the following classified personnel: Darci Sanders, Susan Creager, Amy Baker, Kyle Little.

Extracurricular contracts were approved for the following: Chase Addy, Brad Lineback, Jericoe Jones, Robb Hendershot, Tyler Kiner, Steven Pritchard, Lyndsey Youngen, Alisha Wilson, Mike Hoskins, and Michael Wise.

School Board later entered into executive session to discuss personnel. No action taken at this time.