F.A. Seiberling Nature Realm — 1828 Smith Road, Akron. 330-865-8065
F.A. Seiberling co-founded Goodyear Tire & Rubber in 1898, and became a leader in turning Akron from a small town into being known as the “rubber capital of the world.”
But Seiberling’s interests were not just tires — he helped form the original Akron Metropolitan Park District and served on its board of park commissioners from 1924-35.
He also donated more than 400 acres to expand Sand Run Metro Park. Land that he owned from 1920 to 1948 was purchased by Summit Metro Parks in 1964 to become the Nature Realm.
The Nature Realm is a special-use area specifically created for the study and enjoyment of nature. The park is open 6 a.m. to 11 p.m. daily. The visitors center is closed most Mondays, but may be open select Monday holidays. Hours are 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Tuesday through Saturday; noon to 5 p.m. on Sunday.
The 10,000-square-foot visitors center includes: Seasonal exhibits; Kids’ areas; Live native animals; Naturalist-on-duty to help answer your nature and wildlife questions; and a gift shop featuring educational and locally-made items.
The grounds feature a suspension bridge over a 45-foot-deep ravine, several gardens, plant identification, observation decks, two ponds, wetlands, hiking trails and a tall-grass prairie. Dogs are not permitted. Picnic tables are available. One popular activity for visitors is the hand-feeding of chickadees.
For more information, call 330-865-8065 or visit www.summitmetroparks.org/fa-seiberling-nature-realm.aspx.
Information from www.summitmetroparks.org/fa-seiberling-nature-realm.aspx.
Cuyahoga Valley National Park — 1550 Boston Mills Road, Peninsula
Cuyahoga Valley National Park is open every day. There are many opportunities to enjoy the outdoors — visitors can take a hike, ride the scenic railroad, explore the visitor centers, attend a concert, or bike the Towpath Trail.
Some of the features at CVNP include:
Beaver Marsh — An area created by beavers that occupied area along remnants of the Ohio & Erie Canal. Visitors are able to explore a wetland first-hand and up close by a boardwalk thorugh the marsh.
Boston Store Visitor Center — The Kelley brothers built the Boston Store around 1836. The building’s second floor was a group of 13 rooms constructed to be boarding rooms for area workers. The building went on to become a post office and a private residence before becoming today’s visitor center.
Brandywine Falls — The Cuyahoga Valley’s waterfalls are among the most popular attractions in the national park. Brandywine Falls is a 65-foot waterfall is the centerpiece of the falls area.
Canal Exploration Center — The building has stood at Lock 38 for over 150 years. It has been a tavern, a store, a residence, a boardinghouse, and even housed a blacksmith shop at one time. The Canal Exploration Center features a store selling goods reminiscent of the Canal Era. Interactive touchscreens allow visitors to navigate a canal boat through a lock, explore the nation’s canal system, or eavesdrop on Canal Chat conversations.
Everett Covered Bridge — Crossing over Furnace Run, the Everett Covered Bridge is the only remaining covered bridge in Summit County. In the 19th century, it was one of over 2,000 in Ohio, the state that led the nation in covered-bridge construction.
For more information on visiting the Cuyahoga Valley National Park, visit www.nps.gov/cuva.
Information from www.nps.gov/cuva.
Hale Farm & Village — 2686 Oak Hill Road, Bath. 330-666-3711
Hale Farm and Village is a historic property of the Western Reserve Historical Society in Bath Township, within the boundaries of the Cuyahoga Valley National Park. The 90 acres of Hale Farm & Village forms a living history museum depicting life in the 19th century through agricultural practices and everyday craft and trade demonstrations such as glassblowing, pottery, spinning and weaving, and more.
Hale Farm & Village offers self-guided tours; plan on 2 hours to explore the entire open-air museum and dress appropriately for walking and weather.
Today the site consists of 34 historic structures including eight built by three generations of the Hale family.
Visitors can have lunch at Café 1810 which serves a variety of sandwiches, salads and sides along with locally sourced seasonal items. Beer and wine are also available or try a famous Hale Ale Root Beer. The MarketPlace at Hale Farm & Village offers unique handcrafted at Hale and Ohio made items along with a variety of history related, children, logo and seasonal merchandise. There is free onsite parking.
Summer Season: June through August, Wednesday through Sunday 10 a.m. – 5 p.m. During September & October: Saturday & Sunday 10 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Summer events include: July 14 & 15 Music in the Valley Folk & Wine Festival; Aug. 11 & 12 Civil War Re-enactment; and Aug. 31 & Sept. 1 & 2 Made in Ohio Arts and Crafts Festival.l
For more information, call 330-666-3711, email email@example.com, write P.O. Box 296, Bath 44210 or visit the website www.wrhs.org.
Information from www.wrhs.org.
Dr. Bob’s Home and Gravesite — 855 Ardmore Ave., Akron.
The property at 855 Ardmore Ave. was the family home of physician Robert Holbrook Smith, affectionately called Dr. Bob, one of the founding fathers of Alcoholics Anonymous. This historic site in Akron, Ohio is the birthplace of this internationally known fellowship, which subsequently became the foundation of numerous 12 step programs that are improving the lives of millions.
The first thing you’ll see when you reach Dr. Bob’s Home is the 12 stone and wooden steps that lead up to the front porch. To the left of the porch rests the massive stone monument that is inscribed with Dr. Bob and Anne Smith’s name. To many visitors, the steps and stone plaque symbolize the foundation of A.A.
Dr. Bob’s Home and gift shop is open to visitors every day from noon – 3 p.m. (except Christmas).
Built in 1915, the house was where Dr. Smith brought his bride in 1916; and where they lived for the next 34 years until their deaths: Anne in 1949 and Dr. Bob in 1950. It was here, in this humble home, that Dr. Smith was to take his incredible journey through the 12 steps and into history as the Founder of Alcoholics Anonymous.
It was in this house and surrounding neighborhood where the miracle of recovery began for many hundreds of men and women; individuals who went on to spread this welcome message of recovery around the world. Many visitors have spoken of a feeling of oneness with the spirit of AA as soon as they climbed the front steps and crossed the threshold. The Home was named a National Historic Landmark on Oct. 31, 1985, Dr. Bob’s Home was named a State Historical Site by Governor Richard Celeste. On October 17, 2012, Dr. Bob’s Home was named a National Historic Landmark. Dr. Bob’s Home is one of only two National Historic Landmarks in Summit County and one of 73 in the state of Ohio.
The annual Founders Day weekend will take place June 8 -10 in Akron. People from all over the world attend this special weekend.
For more information, visit http://drbobshome.com.
Information from http://drbobshome.com.
Perkins Stone Mansion — 550 Copley Road, Akron. 330-535-1120
Completed in 1837, the Perkins Stone Mansion was built by Colonel Simon Perkins, son of Akron’s founder General Simon Perkins. As one of the finest examples of Greek Revival architecture in Ohio, the Mansion is now a historical house museum whose objects and rooms not only bring to life the Perkins family’s lifestyles over three generations, but interpret the history of Akron and Summit County from Akron’s founding to the turn of the century.
The restoration of the interior of the Mansion received wide acclaim when it was completed in 1986. In 2006 the Mansion served as the main site of the Junior League of Akron Designer ShowHouse, during which time many renovations and improvements were made throughout the house.
Adjacent buildings include an 1865 office building, and an 1895 Wash House, which includes a windmill. A dry-laid sandstone wall runs along the street edges of this corner property. Descendants of the Perkins family continued to occupy the house until 1945, when it was sold to the Summit County Historical Society.
The Society’s board of directors approved a proposal to return a flock of Dorset sheep to the grounds of the Perkins mansion. “Mutton Hill” is the name that residents of 19th century Akron gave to Perkins’ 150-acre farm, known for its 1,500 sheep that were reputed to produce some of the finest wool in the world.
For information on visiting Perkins Stone Mansion, call 330-535-1120 or visit http://summithistory.org.
Information from http://summithistory.org
Where to go in Summit County
F.A. Seiberling Nature Realm — 1828 Smith Road, Akron. 330-865-8065