One Newcomerstown resident filed their petition with the Tuscarawas County Board of Elections last week in hopes of filling one of four vacant seats on Newcomerstown Village Council come this November.

Heather M. Stein Wells (D) filed her petition Feb. 19 with the board as a candidate for Newcomerstown Council.

Four seats will be up for election. The seats are currently held by Janet Bush, Leman Clark, Dave Hickman and Derek Hickman.

Sue Simmons and Earl McCormick also serve on Newcomerstown Village Council.

Meanwhile, no candidates filed for two vacancies on the Newcomerstown Board of Public Affairs board. The board oversees the water and wastewater departments in the village. The two vacant seats are currently held by Alford Miskimen and Gregg Shivers. Jim Friel also serves on the three-member board.

However, voters in the Newcomerstown Exempted Village School District will face a 7.7-mill renewal tax levy to re-start in 2010 and first due in 2011. The levy has been in effect for the past five years and this will be the first time the levy is up for renewal.

The approximate 8-mill levy generates about $700,000 a year and is used for general operating expenses such as books, gasoline, heating costs, salaries for teachers, etc.

The Tuscarawas County Board of Elections must still certify that all candidates and issues meet the criteria outlined by the board before placement on the May 5 ballot.