Two new faces will join Newcomerstown Village Council come 2010.

The two new faces on village council will be Heather M. Stein Wells with 570 votes and Burris L. Gardner with 489 votes, according to unofficial results from the Tuscarawas County Board of Elections.

Two veteran councilmembers maintained their seats on the board; Janet Bush and Dave Hickman were both re-elected last Tuesday. They received 503 and 422 votes, respectively.

Former Newcomerstown Councilman and Mayor Jim Carr was unsuccessful in his bid for a vacant council seat. He received 246 votes.

For Newcomerstown Board of Public Affairs, Al Miskimen received 544 votes.

In the race for three vacant seats on the Newcomerstown Exempted Village School District's Board of Education, two veterans and one new face will join the board.

The three receiving the most votes were Vince Nay, 521; Arlene Mayhew, 468; and Jerry P. Lahmers, 430. The other candidates included Wanda Joy Snyder, 339; Daisy Mozena, 283; Michael R. Miller, 274; Steven Bush, 268; and James O. Conner, 177.

Newcomerstown voters denied both Sunday sale of alcohol, including beer, options at two local establishments.

Voters denied the Sunday sale of beer, between the hours of 10 a.m. and midnight, at the Speedway Super America LLC located at 100 Morris Crossing, Newcomerstown, with 160 votes for the option and 165 votes against.

The Sunday sale of beer, wine, mixed beverages and spirituous liquor at Froehlich Enterprises Inc., located at 425 W. State St., Newcomerstown, received 94 votes for the measure and 99 votes against it.

Whereas, voters just outside Newcomerstown, in Washington Township, approved the Sunday sale of beer, wine and mixed beverages between the hours of 10 a.m. and midnight at Sally's Hilltop Store LLC with 146 votes for the option and 57 against.

For Gnadenhutten Village Council, four seats were open with four candidates to fill them. Those taking seats include David A. Frye, 225; John O. Heil, 221; Don McMath, 212; and Clifford D. Bolon, 195.

Also for Port Washington Village Council, there were four seats up for election and four candidates. The new councilmen include John J. Bourne, 95; John E. Little, 90, Teresa Jones, 76; and Lori Goettge, 72.

There were three candidates and three vacancies to fill in the Indian Valley Local Board of Education. The new board members include Kathy A. Roth, 1,812; Larry A. Holmes, 1,598; and Francis L. Picchetti, 1,397.

There were three candidates and two seats to fill in the Ridgewood Local Board of Education. Voters in Tuscarawas County selected Frank Mathews, 29; and Dennis C. Bahmer, 22. The other candidate was Art Saylor, 19.

In local township trustee races, only two candidates were elected. The first two candidates were unofficially named the winners:

* Bucks Township -- Douglas L. Ott, 311; Terry P. Mizer, 235; and Bill Burgan Jr., 171.

* Clay Township -- Ruby Kinsey, 169; Karl Kohler, 151; and Eric Himes, 74.

* Jefferson Township -- Perry E. Beavers, 185; Scott P. Swaldo, 158; Jim E. Boltz II, 154; and Leon M. Yoder, 144.

* Oxford Township -- Ed Patrick, 654; James R. McDonnell, 584; Milford I Addy, 539; and Jay Winkler, 279.

* Perry Township -- Jay G. Overholt, 97; Matthew C. Micozzi, 71; Richard Vernon Gardner, 34; Ed Conley, 29; Timothy A. Feldhake, 23; and Michael L. Pivonka, 15.

* Salem Township -- Donald J. Meek, 373; and Ray M. Stocker, 342.

* Washington Township -- Loren R. Berger, 156; Micah N. Hagan, 121; and Ronald D. Quillin, 103.

When polls closed, only 24,383 voters cast ballots in Tuscarawas County or just 41.5 percent of the total eligible voters.