Several athletes from Newcomerstown and Ridgewood earned recognition on the Inter-Valley Conference winter sports all-star teams for 2009-2010.

In boy's basketball, Newcomerstown's honorees include sophomore Matt Ayres on the second team and senior Cameron Wolf on the honorable mention list.

For Ridgewood, it was Evan Jones on the first team, Thomas Ellis on the second team, and Kevin Davis with honorable mention.

In girls' basketball for Newcomerstown, junior Stephany Felton gained first team recognition; junior Chelsea Fenton was named to the second unit and sophomore Kori Connor received honorable mention.

The Lady Generals landed Courtney Babcock on the first team while Kayla Tedrick came through with second team honors. Maggie Nagle received honorable mention.

In wrestling, Ridgewood's Nate Anderson was tabbed "Wrestler of the Year" along with Garaway's Danny Richards. Also picking up first team status for the Generals in addition to Anderson was Jake Conrad. On the second team for Ridgewood were Jake Zeigler and Jarod Conrad.

First team picks for the Trojans included juniors Brian Beckett and Marcus Mardis while fellow junior Casey Dressler was a second team selection.

Ridgewood's Alan Keesee and Garaway's Dave Shutt shared "Coach of the Year" honors in boys' basketball; Dave Schlabach of Hiland was the girls' "Coach of the Year" and Garaway's Sedric Gerber earned the same honor in wrestling.

"Player of the Year" selections included Dylan Kaufman of Hiland in boys' basketball and Hilary Weaver of Hiland in girls' basketball.

Here's a look at the Inter-Valley Conference winter sports' all-star teams for 2009-2010:

Boys' Basketball

First Team

Dylan Kaufman, Hiland; Paul Honigford, Garaway, Adam Wackerly, Malvern; Travis Tucci, Malvern; Seger Bonifant, Strasburg; Brandon Sweet, Tuscarawas Central Catholic; Evan Jones, Ridgewood; Zach Mozden, Sandy Valley.

Second Team

Noah Boyd, Hiland; Brennan Mullet, Garaway; Hunter Schneiter, Strasburg; Tyler Sunderlin, Tuscarawas Central Catholic; Jimmy Fickes, Tuscarawas Central Catholic; Thomas Ellis, Ridgewood; Matt Ayres, Newcomerstown; Cody Welker, Sandy Valley; Brandon Bailey, Conotton Valley.

Honorable Mention

Luke Burch, Hiland; Kevin Davis, Ridgewood; Ryan Troyer, Garaway; Cameron Wolf, Newcomerstown; Max Kapron, Malvern; Travis Noble, Sandy Valley; Tyler Bell, Strasburg; Shawn Bailey, Conotton Valley; Sam Fondriest, Tuscarawas Central Catholic.

Coaches of the Year

Dave Shutt, Garaway, Alan Keesee, Ridgewood.

Player of the Year

Dylan Kaufman, Hiland.

Girls' Basketball

First Team

Noelle Yoder, Hiland; Courtney Babcock, Ridgewood; Carly Clark, Strasburg; Hilary Weaver, Hiland; Kristen Troyer, Garaway; Danielle Grooms, Sandy Valley; Santana Bonifant, Strasburg; Stephany Felton, Newcomerstown; Millie Patchan, Tuscarawas Central Catholic.

Second Team

Katelyn Stuckey, Hiland; Sarah Bardall, Garaway; Kayla Tedrick, Ridgewood; Andi Kettlewell, Garaway; Carli Nicholson, Sandy Valley; Becky Russell, Tuscarawas Central Catholic; Jennifer Hall, Malvern; Chelsea Fenton, Newcomerstown.

Honorable Mention

Jessica Stutzman, Hiland; Kori Conner, Newcomerstown; Ally Miller, Garaway; Brianna Neidig, Tuscarawas Central Catholic; Maggie Nagle, Ridgewood; Logan Smalley, Malvern; Alena Hayden, Strasburg; Carly Gooding, Conotton Valley; Brittany Tindall, Sandy Valley.

Coach of the Year

Dave Schlabach, Hiland.

Player of the Year

Hilary Weaver, Hiland.


First Team

103: Luke Lehmiller, Sandy Valley; 112; Eric Cassidy, Sandy Valley; 119: Tyler Snyder, Garaway; 125: Brian Beckett, Newcomerstown; 130: Tristan Gerber, Garaway; 135: Dutch Kirkman, Sandy Valley; 140: Billy Natale, Sandy Valley; 145: Marcus Mardis, Newcomerstown; 152: Zak Monte, Sandy Valley; 160: Nate Anderson, Ridgewood; 171: Jake Conrad, Ridgewood; 189: Eric Schie, Garaway; 215: Bryan Adams, Tuscarawas Central Catholic; Hwt.: Danny Richards, Garaway.

Second Team

103: James McWilliams, Garaway; 112: Casey Dressler Jr., Newcomerstown; 119: Eric Carbenia, Sandy Valley; 125: Dustin Baum, Sandy Valley; 130: Andrew Lidderdale, Sandy Valley; 135: Seth Snyder, Malvern; 140: Micah Troyer, Garaway; 145: Jarod Conrad, Ridgewood; 152: Jake Zeigler, Ridgewood; 160: Matt Hochstetler, Garaway; 171: Sam Groff, Sandy Valley; 189: Chase Richards, Malvern; 215: Brady Gump, Garaway; Hwt.: Dominic Chiurco, Malvern.

Coach of the Year

Secric Gerber, Garaway.

Wrestlers of the Year

Nate Anderson, Ridgewood; Danny Richards, Garaway.