Dr. Richard Roe and Steven Brode were sworn into office in a re-organizational meeting for the Newcomerstown Board of Education prior to its regular meeting Monday, Jan. 9 at Newcomerstown High School.

Dr. Roe and Brode, who is serving his second term, join Dr. Jerry Lahmers, Vince Nay and Arlene Mayhew on the board.

In other action at the re-organizational meeting, the board:

Named Mayhew as president and Lahmers as vice president for the board.

Established the meeting time as 6 p.m. on the second Monday of each month.

Authorized Treasurer Dan Stocker and Superintendent Jeff Staggs to transact business.

Appointed Superintendent Staggs as purchasing agent.

Established a board service fund of $2,500.

Established committees: Finance - Brode, Nay; Transportation - Mayhew, Nay; Buildings and Grounds - Brode, Nay; Textbooks - Mayhew, Roe; Athletic Council - Lahmers, Roe; Music Council - Nay, Roe; Lee Stadium - Lahmers, Roe; Tax Incentive Review Council - Brode; and Wall of Honor - Lahmers, Mayhew.

Authorized the treasurer and superintendent to attend professional meetings.

Retained the law firm of Squire, Sanders and Dempsey and the law firm of Scott, Scriven and Wallace.

Authorized the superintendent to identify ways to demonstrate the boards appreciation for employees.

Appointed Nay as Ohio School Board Association legislative liaison.

Appointed Roe as Ohio School Board Association student achievement liaison.