WEST LAFAYETTE -- The new year brought some additional changes to the Ridgewood school system during the recent organizational meeting, Jan. 7.

Board president Catherine Miller handed her gavel over to Frank Mathews, and board member John Riebesell moved into the vice president position. Both, Mathews and Miller were nominated, and seconded by board members David Shurtz and Jamie Hicks.

Earlier in the meeting, school board members received special "School Board Appreciation" awards, which were presented by Ridgewood's new superintendent Rick Raach.

The following standing committees were also appointed for the new year:

District Student Achievement Liaison -- John Riebesell

District Legislative Liaison -- David Shurtz

Building & Grounds -- Jamie Hicks and John Riebesell

Finance Committee -- Jamie Hicks and Catherine Miller

Athletic Council -- Frank Mathews and David Shurtz

Insurance Committee -- Frank Mathews and John Riebesell

Certified Negotiations -- Catherine Miller and Frank Mathews

Classified Negotiations -- David Shurtz and John Riebesell

Wall of Fame -- Catherine Miller

Records Commission- -- Frank Mathews

Other business conducted included:

* Approval for the FY2010 tax budget.

* Board members recognized former superintendent William Caudill for his dedicated services to the school district for the past three years and wished him well on his retirement.

* Approval for the 2009 schedule for regular board meetings.

The schedule for regular board meetings for 2009 are as follows: Jan 26, Feb. 23, March 16, April 20, May 18, June 15, July 20, Aug. 17, Sept. 21, Oct. 19, Nov. 16 and Dec. 21. The meetings will take place at 7 p.m. in the RHS Library.