Newcomerstown Village Council announced at their meeting Jan. 19 that the recycling option will remain available. However, there is no pickup service; that started Jan. 1.

Residents interested in continuing to recycle will need to transport their items to the recycling station that is located behind Baker's IGA. The site is accessible from State Street.

Items to be recycled can be put into the bins that are at the site. At this time, there are no specific bins that are labeled and items can be placed into any of the five bins.

Council made appointment of the various committees for 2009. While there has been no change in the committees, council did enter executive session following a vote on the council president which had been a tie between council members Dave Hickman and Earl McCormick. Following the executive session, Mayor Steve Guy appointed Dave Hickman to retain the president pro-tem for council this year.

Committees are as follows (chairperson is listed first):

Sewage and Water: Janet Bush, Sue Simmons, McCormick;

Safety: Dave Hickman, Derek Hickman, Leman Clark;

Building and Grounds: McCormick, Clark, Bush;

Streets: Simmons, David Hickman, Derek Hickman;

Personnel and Legislative: Derek Hickman, Bush, Clark;

Recreation Board: Jeff Davis;

Shade Tree Commission: Heather Stein, Nancy Orr;

Records Commission: Shawn Lindsay, Tom Cinefro; and

Regional Planning: Audrey Hanni and McCormick as alternate.

Other business briefly discussed included the following:

* Council approved an ordinance that now requires all property owners to register all rental properties with the village. Mayor Guy said the ordinance will be beneficial to the village if the property is in question and the village needs to establish contact. Mayor Guy also felt that the ordinance will be helpful when the U.S. Census in taken.

* Roberta Rehard was also approved to be re-hired as part-time records staff at the police department due to current staffing concerns. Rehard had previously retired but was agreeable to return on a part-time basis.

The next meeting is Feb. 2 at 7 p.m. at the David Barber Civic Center, Newcomerstown.