New members inducted into Ridgewood National Junior Honor Society

WEST LAFAYETTE -- The Ridgewood National Junior Honor Society had its induction of new members on April 7 at the high school auditorium. The National Junior Honor Society is an established and nationally recognized organization that recognizes students who excel in the five areas established as the cardinal principals of membership; those areas are scholarship, service, leadership, citizenship and character.

A tapping ceremony took place to select new members. Parents were escorted on stage to pin their child and the new members participated in the formal candle lighting service.

Members of the Ridgewood Middle School Choir sang the National Anthem, a cappella. Current members of the National Junior Honor Society led the formal program and explained the meaning of the five cardinal principals of membership. Vice president Nathan Leavengood led the new members in the Pledge of Membership.

The current officers of NJHS are Tyler Davis, president; Nathan Leavengood, vice president; Kalynn Bluck, secretary; Jasmine Pelfrey, treasurer; Reba Kocher, Relay For Life Team leader; Sierra Shaw, committee chair; Erica Olinger, committee chair; Taylor Dillon, committee chair; and Hayden Burkholder, committee chair. Current members include Mackenzie Bates, Jeffrey Conner, Ashley Dillon, Kody Hains, Zachary Israel, Zak Keesee, Ryan Norman, Anna Powell, Jeremy Shamel, Austin Youker, Larissa Beitzel, Morgan Bradford, Jordan Cognion, Monica Honabarger, Ryan Lowe, Amanda Matchett and Kaylee Schoepe.

New members were presented a white rose, the official flower for NJHS, a white candle, and the NJHS pin that was presented to the inductees by their parents. Mike Masloski, Ridgewood Middle School principal, presented them with a folder which included their official membership card and certificate.

Parents, grandparents, families and friends joined the students for a reception following the ceremony in the high school cafeteria.

New members inducted in to the Ridgewood Middle School chapter of the National Junior Honor Society include:

Eighth graders: Ryan Cognion, son of Tracy Stiteler of Fresno; and Kennedy Newell, daughter of Dwight and Heather Newell of West Lafayette.

Seventh graders: Seth Bergeron, son of Walter and Gina Bergeron of West Lafayette; Jon-Paul Clark, son of John and Valerie Clark of Coshocton; Kaley Harrison, daughter of Michael and Leigh Harrison of West Lafayette; Ashley Tolliver, daughter of Brad and Tricia Tolliver of Kimbolton; and Mackenzie Kistler, daughter of George and Jolinda Kistler of Newcomerstown.

Sixth graders: Nathan Arnold, son of David and Kathryn Arnold of West Lafayette; Danielle Bates, daughter of William and Sheila Bates of West Lafayette; Blake Feldner, son of Martin and Julie Feldner of West Lafayette; Taylor Kellish, daughter of Michael and Kelly Kellish of Newcomerstown; Jacob Panteloukas, son of Demetrius and Kelly Panteloukas of West Lafayette; Alexis Perkins, daughter of Michael and Darla Perkins of West Lafayette; and Evan Youker, son of Rich and Rhonda Youker of West Lafayette.

Laura Grogro, Ridgewood Middle School counselor, is the Chapter Advisor. With her supervision, the current members completed several community and school service projects, including organizing school dances, establishing a concession stand for the school's carnival, selling various fundraiser items, volunteering for Relay For Life and raising over $1,000 in donations for the American Cancer Society.

The new members will begin their involvement with a reorganization meeting held before the end of this school year.