High school seniors honored for outstanding educational achievementNEW PHILADELPHIA -- Eleven members of the class of 2010 from Buckeye Career Center have received the High Schools That Work (HSTW) Award of Educational Achievement. High school seniors who have completed a challenging program of study and demonstrated readiness for employment and for college receive this award from the Southern Regional Education Board (SREB). Award recipients are Zac Ellis, Nicholas Soma, Cory Greenwood, Tyler Young, Justin Ripple, Morgan Haney from New Philadelphia; Dillon Hess, Dover; Tayler Boreman, Garaway; Charles Bihlman, Indian Valley; Nathaniel Randolph, Strasburg; and Andrew Riegle, Carrollton.The awards will be presented to the students at a ceremony on May 10 by Tom Hackenbracht, Senior vice president/principal at the Buckeye Career Center. The award will also be included in the student's career passport, a portfolio the students may use in presentations to prospective employers."These students are to be commended for their efforts," said Hackenbracht. "They have taken challenging courses in high school and scored high on rigorous exams and, by doing so, have increased the likelihood of success in the workplace and further education."Students qualify for the award by completing a college-preparatory course of study in at least two of three subject areas (English/language arts, mathematics, or science); completing a concentration in a career/technical area, mathematics/science or the humanities; and meeting readiness goals in all three subject areas (reading, mathematics and science) of the HSTW Assessment.The Southern Regional Education Board is a multi-state compact for education, founded in 1948. High Schools That Work, launched in 1987, is the largest high school improvement effort in the United States, with more than 1,100 school sites in 31 states, the District of Columbia, and Calgary, Canada. Founded in 2007, the Technology Centers That Work (TCTW) school improvement model has more than 125 technology centers in 12 states.