WEST LAFAYETTE -- The Ridgewood National Junior Honor Society had its induction of new members on April 30 at the high school auditorium. The National Junior Honor Society is an established and nationally recognized organization that recognizes students who excel in the five areas established as the cardinal principals of membership; those areas are scholarship, service, leadership, citizenship, and character.

A tapping ceremony took place to select new members. Parents were escorted on stage to pin their child and the new members participated in the formal candle lighting service.

Members of the Ridgewood Middle School Choir sang the National Anthem, a cappella. Current members of the National Junior Honor Society led the formal program and explained the meaning of the five cardinal principals of membership. President Ryan Lowe led the new members in the Pledge of Membership.

The current officers of NJHS are Ryan Lowe, president; Monica Honabarger, vice president; Jordan Cognion, secretary; Erica Olinger, treasurer; and Amanda Matchetr, Relay For Life Team leader.

Current members also include eighth graders, Larissa Beitzel, Seth Bergeron, Morgan Bradford, Hayden Burkholder, Jon-Paul Clark, Kaley Harrison, Mackenzie Kistler, Kaylee Schoepe; and seventh graders, Nathan Arnold, Danielle Bates, Blake Feldner, Taylor Kellish, Jacob Panteloukas, Alexis Perkins and Evan Youker. New members were presented a white rose, the official flower for NJHS, a white candle and the NJHS pin that was presented to the inductees by their parents. Mike Masloski, Ridgewood Middle School principal, presented them with a folder which included their official membership card and certificate.

Parents, grandparents, families and friends joined the students for a reception following the ceremony in the high school cafeteria.

New members inducted in to the Ridgewood Middle School chapter of the National Junior Honor Society include:

Eighth grader Kelsey Maple, the daughter of Stacy Guilliams of West Lafayette.

Seventh graders -- Brianna Grace, the daughter of Troy and Heather Grace of West Lafayette; Amanda Lowery, the daughter of Holly Lowery of Kimbolton; Katie Markley, the daughter of Sheila Reigle of West Lafayette; Keeley Misener, the daughter of Michael and Terri Misener of West Lafayette; Meghan Raymont, the daughter of Eric and Trisha Raymont of West Lafayette; and Makayla Zimmerman, the daughter of Marcie Lockard of West Lafayette.

Sixth graders -- Jonathan Arnold, the son of David and Kathryn Arnold of West Lafayette; Kylie Art, the daughter of Mark and Kathy Art of West Lafayette; Nicklaus Blakley, the son Joe and Sheila Blakley of Fresno; Shyann Boone, the daughter of Amy Boone of Coshocton; John Bordenkircher, the son of Steve and Gwen Bordenkircher of West Lafayette; Danika Brenneman, the daughter of Daniel and Tamara Brenneman of West Lafayette; Allison Dobson, the daughter of Amanda Hayes of Fresno; Courtney Elliott, the daughter of Tim and Sherry Elliott of West Lafayette; Carley Israel, the daughter of Dennis and Colleen Israel of West Lafayette; Anniedale Johns, the daughter of Jon and Tammy Johns of Newcomerstown; Holly McCoy, the daughter of Mark and Kathy McCoy of Fresno; Veronica Roberts, the daughter of Ron and Laura Roberts of West Lafayette; Courtney Tolliver, the daughter of Brad and Tricia Tolliver of Kimbolton; Seth Tumblin, the son of Steve and Beth Tumblin of Coshocton; Cassandra Varian, the daughter of Dennis and Ardie Varian of Fresno; and Jaedyn Wentz, the daughter of Tracy Wentz of Coshocton.

Laura Grogro, Ridgewood Middle School counselor, is the Chapter Advisor. With her supervision, the current members completed several community and school service projects, including organizing school dances, establishing a concession stand for the school's carnival, selling various fundraiser items, volunteering for Relay For Life and raising over $1,000 in donations for the American Cancer Society.

The new members will begin their involvement with a reorganization meeting held before the end of this school year.