GNADENHUTTEN -- "Lead out Loud" was the theme for the Indian Valley FFA annual awards ceremony May 21 at Indian Valley High School.

Matt DeMattio, 2009-2010 chapter president, welcomed the group and said, "This past year has been filled with much success. As a chapter, we were once again recognized as one of the elite chapters in the state by being selected as an Ohio Gold Medal Chapter.

"Tonight, we will recognize several individuals who have contributed toward making the Indian Valley FFA among the very best in the state. We will also recognize those individuals and members whose dedication, hard work and long hours have resulted in achieving success through the many opportunities provided by the FFA.

"For some, it marks the end of their FFA careers as a high school student, and for others it is simply marking the beginning of the opening of many doors of opportunity the FFA provides," he said.

A total of 28 members received Greenhand degrees. The top five finalists for this year's Star Greenhand Award were Derek Lewton, Brianna Beamer, KaraLin Gray, Brianna Hamilton and Daniel Brick.

Brianna Hamilton, daughter of Bobby and Vonda Hamilton of Uhrichsville, was named Star Greenhand.

Seventeen members received Chapter degrees. Alex Cotsmire, son of Kellie and Chris Edwards of Gnadenhutten, was chosen from a slate of five finalists for the Star Chapter Degree Award. Finalists were Coryden Enochs, Cassie Glazer, Nick Beachy, Kira Oliver and Cotsmire.

Justin Glass, son of Kathy and Adam Long of Port Washington, received his State Degree during the 2010 State FFA Convention. This is the highest honor a state association can bestow on its members.

Leadership awards were presented to Cotsmire; Matt Demattio, son of Becky and Doug Demattio of Sharon Valley; Michael Ferguson, son of Beth Ferguson-Pollock and Travis Pollock of Port Washington; Cassie Glazer, daughter of Diana Glazer of Gnadenhutten and Scott Glazer of Port Washington; Brianna Hamilton; Laura Johnson, daughter of Colleen and Damon Johnson of New Philadelphia; Dakota Murphy, son of Ella Murphy of New Philadelphia; Kira Oliver, daughter of Ruth and John Oliver of Dennison; and Andrew Stiles and Kristen Stiles, whose parents are David and Jeanne Stiles of New Philadelphia.

Indian Valley FFA Scholarship pins for all As and 4.0 grade point average in the agricultural classes throughout the year were presented to Matt Demattio, Jorden Glass, Kristen Stiles, Andrew Stiles, KaraLin Gray, Alex Cotsmire and Coryden Enochs.

Scholarship certificates for those earning at least a 3.2 GPA in their agricultural classes were presented to Zach Bates, Brandon Doak, Melanie West, Zach Waltz, Daniel Brick, Brianna Hamilton, Cassie Glazer, Bryer Schupp and Kira Oliver.

Kristen Stiles received both the LF Miller Memorial Award for Parliamentary Procedure and the Don Williams Memorial Award for Community Service.

Matt Demattio received the Harold Schreiner Memorial Award for Leadership. Michael Ferguson received the Blue and Gold Award.

Demattio also received the Star Agribusiness Award, logging more than 2,000 hours this past year with his own herd of cattle, market hogs and forage, in addition to helping on his family's farm.

Several members participated in the Career Development Events (CDE). Forestry team members, Alex Cotsmire, Coryden Enochs, Chance Heubner, Kira Oliver and Bryer Schupp, placed 17th in state competition.

In Skills Classic Competition, team members Corey Chrisman, Brian Mazzolini, Bryer Schupp and Thomas Underwood placed sixth in the State Southeastern Skills Classics and received a sixth place State Plaque. Chrisman placed third in tractor operation, Mazzolini first in Aquarium Management, Schupp first in Natural Resources and Underwood second in tractor assembly.

The Rural Soils team of Demattio, Glass, Brick, Brianna Beamer and Jesse Christman, placed fourth in the district. The Urban Soils team of Ferguson, Glass, Gray, Beamer and Heubner placed fourth in the district.

The Parliamentary Procedure team of Demattio, Andrew Stiles, Kristen Stiles, Cotsmire, Hamilton, Steve Wheeler, Zach Waltz, Oliver, Glazer and Beamer placed fourth in the sub-district and received a Gold rating.

In the Job Interview contest, Matt Demattio placed first in the district in Division VI and advanced to the state where he placed seventh,

In Extemporaneous Speaking, Matt Demattio placed first in the district, receiving a gold rating and advanced to the state where he placed eighth. He qualified for the state contest for two consecutive years.

For Prepared Pubic Speaking, Coryden Enochs placed second in the sub-district, fourth in the district and receive a gold rating in both contests.

Breanna Bolon placed first in the creed speaking contest among the freshman students and represented the chapter at the sub-district competition, where she placed fifth and received a gold rating.

The Food Science Team of Alex Cotsmire, Kristen Stiles, Brandon Doak and Breanna Bolon placed second in the district and fourth at the state level.

The Outdoor Power and Equipment Team members, Michael Ferguson, Derek Lewton and Daniel Brick, placed fourth in the district.

The Indian Valley FFA held a very successful fruit and beef jerky sale this year, bringing in a total of $18,114.50. Top five salesmen were Zach Bates, $ 1,572.50; Alex Cotsmire, $874.50; Matt Demattio, $846.50; Cassie Glazer, $831.50; and Corey Decker, $750.

Top salesmen for the strawberry sales were Bryer Schupp, Jorden Glass, Alex Cotsmire, Travis Riddle and Zach Bates. The sale generated an additional $10,292 for chapter activities.

Several members received proficiency awards, as follows: Matt Demattio, Beef Production and Forage Production; Justin Glass, Agricultural Diesel Mechanics and Repair; Nick Beachy, Dairy Science Placement; Jorden Glass, Equine Placement; Corey Decker, Outdoor Recreation; Kristen Stiles, Sheep Production; and Cassie Glazer, Swine Production.

New officers installed were: Andrew Stiles, president; Laura Johnson, vice president; Cassie Glazer, secretary; Alex Cotsmire, treasurer; KaraLin Gray, reporter; Brandon Doak, sentinel; and Coryden Enochs, student advisor.

Ben Hoffman of New Philadelphia and Joe Flickinger (Flickinger Piping) of Dover, received Honorary Chapter Degree Awards.

Receiving certificates of Appreciation were Matt Durbin, Janet Pavick, Kathy Wells, Sue Love, Doug and Becky Demattio, Troy Page, Roger Bond, Diane Glazer, Dave Birker, Ben Hoffman, Kelli Edwards, Shari Grewell and Monigold's Upland Bird Hunting.