COLUMBUS -- The Supreme Court of Ohio announced the appointment of a local court administrator as the 2011 vice-chair of the Supreme Court's Commission on the Rules of Superintendence.

Elizabeth W. Stephenson, court administrator of the Tuscarawas County Court of Common Pleas, general division, was named vice-chair of the 19-member commission established in 2006 to help the court exercise its constitutional powers of superintendence over Ohio courts.

Stephenson has served as court administrator for the Tuscarawas Common Pleas Court since 1997, where she has been instrumental in establishing mediation and drug court programs. She also has served on the Supreme Court Jury Task Force and taught courses for the Ohio Judicial College. Before beginning her current position, Stephenson practiced law with Stephenson, Stephenson and Carrothers in New Philadelphia and was elected to two terms on the New Philadelphia City Council. She earned her bachelor's degree from The Ohio State University in 1986 and her juris doctor from the University of Cincinnati College of Law in 1989.

The Supreme Court Commission on the Rules of Superintendence makes recommendations to the court for adoption of new rules and amendments. The rules do not need to be submitted to the General Assembly for review but become effective upon adoption by the court.

The Supreme Court also announced the appointments of:

* The Honorable William A. Klatt of the 10th District Court of Appeals in Columbus as chair.

* Christina L. Corl of Crabbe, Brown & James as member at-large.

Commission members include representatives of the various judges associations, attorneys, magistrates, clerks of court, and court administrators.