The Newcomerstown Chamber of Commerce President and Newcomerstown Board of Public Affairs member will soon be the leader of the Village of Newcomerstown.

James Jim Friel was elected mayor of the village in last Tuesdays election. Friel, a registered Democrat, ran unopposed in the general election.

I am excited, he said about becoming the new mayor. Ive been doing a lot of thinking. First, Id like to start working with Newcomerstown Council and move Newcomerstown in a forward direction. Theres a lot of things that we as a village can do.

His four-year term will start in 2012.

He also plans on creating jobs, working with organizations and groups to move forward, and sprucing up the village for the upcoming bicentennial in 2014.

Friel will succeed Steven Guy, who chose not to seek re-election.

Friel received 624 votes, unofficially.

Meanwhile, the unofficial results for the two vacant Newcomerstown Village Council seats are Sue Simmons, 159 votes; Jimmie D. Carr, 155 votes; and Michael Mick, 43 votes. Once the ballots are certified, the final winners will be announced.

In terms of the Newcomerstown Board of Public Affairs (two vacancies), Gregg A. Shivers received 611 votes and 58 write-in votes were cast. Michael Hartline was listed as a write-in candidate for the position.

Two individuals were elected to the Newcomerstown Exempted Village School District Board of Education. Rick Roe received 866 votes, Steven Brode had 686 and Tammy R. Rexroad had 656 votes.

Results from other candidate races include:

Gnadenhutten Mayor David A. Zimmerman, 358.

Gnadenhutten Council (two to be elected) Stephen R. Moore, 278; David Harmon, 323.

Gnadenhutten Clerk/Treasurer Kim R. Stull, 346.

Port Washington Mayor Thomas Jason Gardner, 119.

Port Washington Council (two to be elected) Joe A. Bourne, 105; Terry A. Lawver, 88.

Stone Creek Mayor No candidates filed.

Stone Creek Council (two to be elected) No candidates

See FRIEL, page 2


Oxford Township Trustee (one to be elected) Larry Allen Stein, 973.

Oxford Township Fiscal Officer Gary R. Chaney, 742.

Rush Township Trustee Fred R. Edwards, 183.

Jefferson Township Trustee Kenneth A. Miskimen, 298.

Jefferson Township Fiscal Officer Brian R. Pfeiffer, 307.

Salem Township Trustee (one to be elected) John J. Bourne, 89; Aaron A. Carlisle, 130; David Dyer, 117; Donald W. Herbert, 174.

Salem Township Fiscal Officer Patricia A. Arth, 434.

Washington Township Trustee (one to be elected) William M. Edwards, 136; James M. Clarke, 103; Ronald D. Quillin, 32; and Tim Kendle (unexpired term), 186.

Washington Township Fiscal Officer Sally Arnold, 165; Karla Jean Bierbower, 103.

Indian Valley Local School District Board of Education (two to be elected) Betty Quilling, 1,783; Bob Hall, 1,561; and Lloyd V. MacAdam, 828.

Results from the two local issues include:

Oxford Township (excluding the Village of Newcomerstown) Renewal tax levy for fire protection, 0.85-mill, commencing 2011, first due 2012 For the levy, 199; and against the levy, 132.

Tri-County Joint Ambulance District Replacement tax levy for current operating expenses and equipment purchases, 1-mill, commencing 2012, first due 2012 For the levy, 1,093; and against, 958.

Meanwhile, Tuscarawas County voters rejected Issue 1 and Issue 2 (by some 8,000 votes) and approved Issue 3.

In all, 28,932 voters or 49.64 percent of the total registered voters in Tuscarawas County cast ballots Tuesday.

For a complete list of Tuscarawas County general election results, visit