GNADENHUTTEN -- The Indian Valley FFA had a very successful year, according to David Stiles, chapter advisor.

The Greenhand Degree is the first degree of membership in the FFA. This year, a total of 22 members received their Greenhand Degrees. Sarah Fowler, daughter of Natalie and John Fowler of Port Washington, received the Star Greenhand Degree, reserved for the first year member who has exhibited outstanding leadership and scholarship and has taken an active roll participating in many FFA organization opportunities.

Others receiving Greenhand Degrees were Melissa Alberty, Madolyn Azzardi, Emily Berkshire, Spencer Blackwell, Alysia Corpman, Jake Corpman, Cody Coventry, Luke Durbin, Frankie Fanlin, David Fritz, Allison Kenney, Danielle McKinney, Emily McMahon, Benjamin Nicholas, Dusty Nicholas, Hannah Peeper, Katelyn Regula, Tiffany Shalosky, Lindsey Smith, Kaylee Stephen, and Cody Valentine.

Matt Dauch, son of Lynette and Benny Dauch of Tippecanoe, received the Star Chapter Farmer Degree, reserved for the second or third year FFA member who has shown outstanding leadership and scholarship qualities.

Others receiving their Star Chapter Farmer degrees were Tanner Bardall, Ashley Decker, Austin Gardner, Tessa Mitchell, Brittany Page, Dalton Sprowl, and Austin Tuckosh.

To be eligible to receive an Indian Valley FFA Scholarship pin, the student must receive all A's and earned a 4.0 GPA in their agricultural classes throughout the past year. The 2012 scholarship award winners were Alex Cotsmire, Cassie Glazer, Karolin Gray, Bryer Schupp, Lindsey Smith, Alysia Corpman, Coryden Enochs, Sarah Fowler, Allison Kenney, Kaylee Stephen, Tanner Bardall. Kalelyn Regula, and Dalton Sprowl.

To be eligible to receive a Scholarship Certificate, the student must have earned at least a 3.2 GPA in their agricultural classes throughout the past year.

The 2012 recipients were Madolyn Azzardi, Danielle McKinney, Dusty Nicholas, Eddy Starnes, Spencer Blackwell, Frankie Fanlin, Hannah Peeper, Tiffany Shalosky, Melissa Alberty and Tessa Mitchell.

Each year, FFA members compete in several career development events. This was a banner year with three teams placed in the top five teams in the state and several individuals placed in the top ten individuals in the state,

The skills Classic Team of Emily Berkshire, Luke Clarke, Cody Coventry, Megan Fansler, Mitchell Derheimer, Lindsey Smith, Brian Mazzoleni, Dusty Nicholas, Bryer Schupp and Matthew Varnes placed fifth in the state and received a fifth place state banner.

Top individuals receiving plaques were Lindsey Smith, Luke Clarke, Bryer Schupp and Dusty Nicholas.

Coryden Enochs, son of Dawn and Joe Enochs of Gnadenhutten, received the L. Frank Miler Award presented each year to the top member of the parliamentary procedure team, as selected by team members. Miller was the first Indian Valley FFA president. The team received a gold rating.

In the job interview contest, Dalton Sprowl placed fourth in the district, Lindsey Smith, second, and Ashley Decker, third.

Allison Kenney placed fifth in the state creed speaking contest and received a gold rating.

David Fritz was third overall in the state agriculture Mechanics Skill contest.

Team members Alex Cotsmire, Coryden Enochs, Cassie Glazer and Katelyn Regula placed fifth at the state level Food Science CDE competition.

The Animal Behavior CDE team of Ashley Decker, Alex Cotsmire, Coryden Enochs and Cassie Glazer placed third at the state level.

Chapter proficiency awards were received by Cassie Glazer, for Swine Production; Karalin Gray, Equine Entrepreneurship; Alex Cotsmire, Landscape Management; Bryer Schupp, Nursery Operations; Cassie Glazer, Grain Production; and Ashley Decker, Equine Placement.

Indian Valley FFA had a very successful fruit sale, selling nearly $14,573 worth of Florida citrus fruit top salesmen were Alex Cotsmire, Austin Tuckosh, Melissa Alberty, Alysia Corpman and Cassie Glazer.

The chapter also conducted a successful strawberry sale. Members sold $9,710 worth of fruit with top salesmen, Bryer Schupp, Alex Cotsmire, Cassie Glazer, Tiffany Shalosky and Coryden Enochs.

Based on the accumulation of points, the top ten leaders for 2011-2012 were: Alex Cotsmire, son of Kelli and Chris Edwards of Gnadenhutten; Matt Dauch; Ashley Decker, daughter of Alesia and Michael Decker of Port Washington; Coryden Enochs;, Sarah Fowler; Cassie Glazer, daughter of Diane Glazer of Gnadenhutten and Scott Glazer of Port Washington; Karalin Gray, daughter of Brenda Haines of Uhrichsville; Hannah Peeper, daughter of Donna and Brent Peeper of Newcomerstown; Bryer Chupp, son of Jackie and Todd Schupp of New Philadelphia; and Dalton Sprowl, son of Tracy and Shawn Sprowl of Port Washington.

Special awards were presented to Cassie Glazer, who received the Harold Schreiner Memorial Award for Leadership; and Alex Cotsmire, who received the Don Williams Memorial Award for Community Service

Cassie Glazer received the final leadership award, known as the "Blue and Gold Award." It is awarded to an agriculture education student who has given of their time, labor and efforts not looking to receive anything in return.

Jodi Hillyer and Jackie Schupp received this year's Honorary Chapter Farmer Degrees awarded to adults who have given of their time to help the chapter. Certificates of appreciation were presented to individuals and businesses who provided assistance to the chapter during the year.

Receiving certificates were Jodi Hillyer, Jackie Schupp, Diane Glazer, Flickinger Piping, Kelli Edwards, Thomas Cunningham, Matt Durbin, Eric Glazer, and the Tuscarwas County Cattle Association.

The 2012-2013 Indian Valley officer team were installed, as follows: Dalton Sprowl, president; Alysia Corpman, vice president; Kaylee Stephen, secretary; Allison Kenney, treasurer; Sarah Fowler, reporter; Luke Durbin, sentinel; and Tanner Bardall, student advisor.