As of Dec. 30, Newcomerstown Village Councilmember Janet Bush resigned from her position on the governmental board.

Bush served on the board seven years and ran as an Independent candidate.

"There's too much in my personal life right now," Bush said about her reason for resigning from the position. "My plate is very full."

She said that someone should fill her seat that has the time to dedicate to it.

Other council members on the board include, Heather Stein-Wells, Sue Simmons, Jim Carr, Dave Hickman, and Burris Gardner.

Newcomerstown Mayor Jim Friel is asking village residents to submit a letter of interest and their background information so that Newcomerstown Village Council can review the applications.

Applications may be mailed to: Newcomerstown Mayor's Office, 124 W. Church St., P.O. Box 151, Newcomerstown, OH 43832.

There is one year remaining on Bush's term on council.

Council is expected to select its newest member at the Jan. 21 Newcomerstown Village Council meeting.