GNADENHUTTEN -- Nearly 200 members and guests were present when the Indian Valley FFA Chapter recently conducted its awards ceremony.

This year, 35 members received the Greenhand Degree given for the first year of membership in the FFA. Freshmen receiving the award were Madison Bolon, Daniel Doane, Maxine Fawcett, Kimberly Fetty, Shianne Gorby, Autumn Gardner, Leaha Granato. Taylor Harris, Chance Harshey, Bradley Haun, Paitra Huebner, Steven McMullen, Christopher Poe, Robert Smith, Brandon Terry and Harold Westhafer.

Sophomores receiving the Greenhand Degree include Hallie Elvin, Ciara Himes, Jacob Jordan, Katie Kidd, Maddison Miles and Lyrissa Porter.

Juniors receiving the Greenhand Degree were Donnie Coen, Julia Dichler, Alex Ferguson, Brittani Garabrandt, Cody McKinney, Evan Menefee, Kyle O'Conner, Austin Simmerman and Nathan Wenger.

Taylor Karr, Andrew Mann, Adam Septer and Elizabeth Smith were the seniors receiving the Greenhand Degree.

Autumn Gardner, daughter of Traci and Richard Gardner II of Port Washington, received the Star Greenhand Degree.

Twenty-five members received their FFA Chapter Degrees, given to second or third year members. Sophomores receiving the Chapter Degrees were Spencer Blackwell, Alysia Corpman, Jake Corpman, Cody Coventry, Luke Durbin, Megan Fensler, Franchesca Fantin, Sarah Fowler, Allison Kenney, Tyler Kramer, Mickey Mauer, Emily McMahon, Ben Nicholas, Hannah Peeper, Kaylee Stephen and Silas Tracey.

Juniors receiving the Chapter Farmer Degree were Caleb Albrecht, Emily Berkshire, Detinee Miller, and Katelyn Regula.

Seniors Maddy Azzardi. Dylan Ford, Danielle McKinney, Lindsey Smith, and Cody Valentine received the Chapter Farmer Degree.

Luke Durbin, son of Matt Durbin of New Philadelphia received the Star Chapter Farmer Degree. Lindsey Smith, daughter of Jody and Willis Smith of Tippecanoe, was recognized as the Outstanding Senior.

Students receiving Scholarship Pins and Award Certificates for achieving all As in their Agriculture Education courses were Tanner Bardall, Alysia Corpman, Julia Dichler, Kimberly Fetty, Shianne Gorby, Bradley Haun, Allison Kenney, Andrew Mann, Danielle McKinney, Maddison Miles, Austin Simmerman, and Lindsey Smith.

Four members were recognized for receiving their State FFA Degrees during the State FFA Convention May 3. They are Tanner Bardall, son of Leslie and Jay Bardall of Freeport; Matthew Dauch, son of Lynette and Benny Dauch of Tippecanoe; Dalton Sprowl, son of Shawn and Tracey Sprowl of Port Washington; and Bryer Schupp, son of Jackie and Todd Schupp of Gnadenhutten.

Todd Schupp was also recognized as a State finalist in the Nursery Operations Proficiency competition.

Chapter officers Kaylee Stephen, secretary, Allison Kenney, treasurer, and Sarah Fowler, reporter, achieved Gold ratings on their chapter officer books. They were also recognized during the State FFA convention.

The chapter recognized its top sellers for the chapter fund raisers conducted during the past year. Top fruit sales honors went to Sarah Fowler, Alysia Corpman, Lyrissa Porter, Luke Durbin, and Tanner Bardall.

Recognized for top sales in the Strawberry fund raiser were Sarah Fowler, Tyler Kramer, Dalton Sprowl, Cody Coventry, and Kaylee Stephen.

Top ten Leadership pins were presented to Tanner Bardall, Alysia Corpman, Matt Dauch, Luke Durbin, Sarah Fowler, Autumn Gardner, Allison Kenney, Hannah Peeper, Dalton Sprowl, and Kaylee Stephen.

Sarah Fowler, daughter of Natalie and John Fowler of Port Washington, received the Don Williams Memorial Award for Community Service.

Dalton Sprowl received the Harold Schreiner Memorial Award for Leadership. The Indian Valley Blue and Gold Award was presented to Hannah Peeper, daughter of Donna and Brent Peeper of Newcomerstown.

An Honorary Chapter membership was presented to Harry Kenney Jr. of the USDA NRCS, for his assistance and guidance in training the Indian Valley Grasslands Team.

The team will compete at the National Grasslands Evaluation

Competition in Springfield, Missouri June 5.

An Honorary Chapter Membership was also presented to Thomas Cunningham for all his support and assistance in helping the chapter's members with the Share-A-Christmas

Program and numerous other activities sponsored by the Indian Valley Alumni Association.

Installed as the 2013-2014 Indian Valley officer team were Dalton Sprowl, president; Sarah Fowler, vice President; Kaylee Stephen, secretary; Allison Kenney, treasurer; Brittany Page, reporter; Alysia Corpman, sentinel; and Tanner Bardall, student advisor.

Following the awards ceremony, approximately 200 members and guests participated in bowling, eating and other family and social activities at Alpa Lanes in Uhrichsville.