WEST LAFAYETTE -- The new year has recently brought in three new council members at West Lafayette.

On Jan. 13, the new council members: Tim Cheney, Craig Bordenkircher and Rich Wheeler participated in their first official council meeting of the new year. Council member Christie Maurer was re-elected for another term. Returning council members are Ron Lusk and Roger Warne.

Committee assignments were assigned by Mayor Jack Patterson. Returning council member Warne was chosen as the council president pro tem for 2014. Mayor Patterson pointed out an interesting

See NEW, page 4

See NEW, pagetrivial

fact that when he started as Mayor, 34-years ago in January 1980, Warne was also chosen as the council president.

The new year is also introduces a re-design to the council committees. The amount of committees has decreased from the previous 16 committees to nine committees this year.

According to Mayor Patterson, the re-design of the committees will hopefully facilitate a more efficient meeting for the council committees. The new committees are as follows: Building and Property: Bordenkircher, Maurer, Lusk; Community Relations: Maurer, Bordenkircher, Cheney; Finance: Warne, Wheeler, Lusk; Fire Dependency Board: Glenn Hill (fire chief), Chad Hains (fire department), Martin Glazier (resident), Warne, Maurer; Ordinance: Cheney, Warne, Wheeler; Planning Commission: Mayor Patterson, Lusk, Martin Glazier (resident), Glenn Hill (fire chief), Jim Ronshausen (resident), Debbie Scheetz (resident/secretary); Public Safety: Mayor Patterson, Warne, Lusk; Public Works: Wheeler, Cheney, Bordenkircher; Records Retention: Mayor Patterson, Lisa Stiteler (fiscal officer), William Owens (village solicitor), Susan Chapdelaine (resident/secretary); and Zoning Board: (village residents) Herb Tidrick, Dennis Cabot, Shannon Lawrence, Debbie Wyler, Ed Chapdelaine, Dave Kadri (zoning inspector).

Council members approved the retirement of long-time fire chief, Gaylord Hill during their regular session Monday night. Hill's letter of resignation was effective Dec. 31, 2013. Hill has been the village's fire chief for 51 years. Council later approved Glenn Hill as the new fire chief for West Lafayette.

Other business discussed included:

• Coshocton County Regional Planning staff Tiffany Swigert was present and provided council an overview of the benefits of membership. Coshocton County Regional Planning was established in 1969. Council later agreed to continue membership with Coshocton County Regional Planning.

• Council approved a contract with Coshocton County Jobs & Family Services to utilize general relief workers to assist the village with various village labor tasks (e.g. raking, sweeping, mowing).

• First reading was given for a resolution concerning a 4-mill tax levy to assist the village's general fund and the police department. Mayor Patterson said the tax levy will be a necessary step to help ensure the general fund since government money is slowly decreasing each year. Within the next five years, it is projected that there will be little or no government money to carry over into the village's general fund. The issue will need a decision before Feb. 6 in order to be included on the next ballot.

Council's next meeting is set for Jan. 27 at 7 p.m. in council chambers.