NEW PHILADELPHIA -- The 2014 Tuscarawas County 4-H Demonstration Contest took place July 8 at JIM's Place in New Philadelphia. Individuals and teams were evaluated on their presentation. The first and second place winners in the Senior Division and Junior Team Division will compete at the Ohio State Fair on July 30 where they will compete against other youth throughout the state.

Junior Division (under 14 as of Jan. 1)

First Place - Alexis Watson of West Lafayette, member of Thunder Valley Pioneers, title of demonstration "A Pitching Experience."

Second Place - Briana Leslie of New Philadelphia, member of Red Rock Rebels, title of demonstration "Rabbit Care."

Third Place - Laney Barger of Gnadenhutten, member of Thunder Valley Pioneers, title of demonstration "No Sew Hair Bow."

Fourth Place - Joseph Brown of Port Washington, member of Thunder Valley Pioneers, title of demonstration "Ice Cream Magic."

Fifth Place - Jade Jones of Tuscarawas, member of Mix-n-Match, title of demonstration "How to Care for Pygmy Goats."

Senior Division (14 and over as of Jan. 1)

First Place - Michala Metzcar of Zoarville, member of Atwood Lakers, title of demonstration "Preserving Memories."

Second Place - Mackenzie Peffer of Zoar, member of Tusky Valley Farmers, title of demonstration "A Demo in Living History - Zoar."

Junior Team Division

First Place - 4-H Pioneers, members: Marhin Chismar and Maddie Troyer, both of Dover. Title of demonstration "Quick Breads: Wrong & Right."

Second Place - Dig Yer Heels In, members: Ethan Huff and Erica Lorenz, both of Sherrodsville. Title of demonstration "Creation of Dirt Pudding."

Senior Team Division

First Place - Tusky Valley Farmers, members: Adam Kohler and Micaliah Peffer, both of Zoar. Title of demonstration "Whose Pig is Whose? How to Properly ID Your Market Hog."

Second Place - Country Wild Childs, members: Emily Farnsworth of Strasburg and Megan Jones of Mineral City. Title of demonstration " Water Safety & First Aid"

Trophies for the contest were donated by the Tuscarawas County 4-H Committee. Judges were Denise Cooley, Michelle Evans, Tanya Tristano and Tammy Stockert.

CFAES provides research and related educational programs to clients on a nondiscriminatory basis.

For information, visit