The Newcomerstown Scholarship Foundation awarded $230,900 in scholarships to 28 graduating seniors ($122,400) and 28 Newcomerstown graduates ($108,500) already attending an accredited post-secondary institution.

Newcomerstown graduates are eligible for four more scholarship awards if they keep a 3.0 grade point average.

This is the foundation's 51st year awarding scholarships for Newcomerstown graduates. It was created by a group of concerned citizens in 1964. It is not a part of the Newcomerstown School system. All funds are based on donations and fundraising by local citizens over that time period. It is governed by a board of 13 trustees and four officers who are currently, Pat Cadle, president; John Ourant, vice president; Alan Bambeck, treasurer; and Dennis Belle, secretary.

Newcomerstown students have received over $600,000 over the past four years.

Citizen's Scholarship Foundation of Newcomerstown (freshman awards for 2015-2016 school year): Brandy Addy, Kent State University; Jeff Baumgardner, Zane State College; Nate Bourne, University of Findlay; Taylor Bradford, Central Ohio Technical College; Jared Brooks, Kent State Tuscarawas; Erin Burrier, Kent State University; Lindsey Garretson, Kent State University; Tanisha Grewell, University of Toledo; Klarissa Hatfield, Central Ohio Technical College; Bent Heishman, Kent State Tuscarawas; Cole Hinton, Miami University; Annie Dale Johnson, Malone University; Emma Landis, University of Findlay; Jocelynn Lenhoff, Malone University; Adina Lippencott, Kent State Tuscarawas; Paige McMullen, Lake Erie College; Sara Miller, Youngstown State University; Kayla Mozene, Kent State Tuscarawas; Nicholas Mullens, Kent State Tuscarawas; Kyle Pritchard, University of Akron; Lincoln Shaw, Miami University; Dustin Stringer, Wilmington University; Justice Thornsley, University of Akron; Sarah Thursby, Kent State University; Samantha Watson, Wittenberg University; Tyler Wheeler, Ohio University; Kaira Wolf, West Liberty University; and Austin Zufelt, University of Akron.

Citizen's Scholarship Foundation of Newcomerstown (post-secondary awards for 2015-2016 school year): Steven Brooks, Kent State Tuscarawas; Kaydi Dodd, University of Cincinnati; Caleb Fenton, Kent State University; Matthew Goodwin, Kent State Tuscarawas; McKaila Goodwin, Ohio State University; Joshua Green, Kent State University; Macy Hannahs, Central Ohio Technical College; Kelsie Hinds, Ohio State University; Allie Hinton, Ohio Dominican University; Matthew Hursey, Wilmington University; Cassidy Johnson, Bowling Green State University; Rachel Kirker, Kent State University; Megan Kovach, Aultman College; Brittany Mayhew, Kent State Tuscarawas; Quintin McCune, Kent State Tuscarawas; Alicia Moore, Muskingum University; Abby Neighbor, University of Mount Union; Bryan Patrick, Zane State College; Amanda Perkins, Morehead State University; Christian Poe, Kent State University; Stephen Poe, Kent State University; Jessie Rexroad, Ohio University; Falesha Robinson, Kent State University; Seth Roe, Ohio State University; Chandler Shryock, University of Akron; David Snyder, GIAL; Cody Sproat, Malone University; and Apryl Thursby, Kent State University.