COLUMBUS -- A total of 28 bowlers from Tuscarawas County traveled to Sawmill Lanes in Columbus for the Special Olympics State Bowling Tournament.

The tournament was held on Saturday, Oct. 24.

Bowlers were divided into teams of four, with two traditional teams (all Special Olympic athletes) and five unified teams (one Special Olympic athlete paired with a Unified partner). Several of the teams placed in the top six of their division.

Winning gold medals for Tuscarawas County was the Unified team comprised of Adam Lefler, Chelsea Lefler, Janel Travis and Shane York.

Winning silver medals for Tuscarawas County were a Unified team made up of Richard Anderson, Redell Brindley, Steve Hazelip, and Kevin Huston and a Traditional team made up of Gary Barnes, Chris Bayne, Scott Morrison, and Lonnie Thornton.

Three teams in Tuscarawas County won fourth place ribbons in their respective divisions: The Unified team of Chris Gonter-Dray, Sue Gonter-Dray, Taylor Jones, and Fannie Miller (Division 18), the Unified team made up of Jayne Gordon, William Gordon, Earl Miller, and Eric Miller (Division 21), and the Traditional team comprised of Andrew Floyd, Jenny Hostetler, Gerry Jasper, and Karen Miller. The Unified Team of Dan Jenkins, Doug McConnell, Carter McConnell, and Chandler McConnell won sixth place in their division.

The Tournament saw bowlers from all over the state compete. The 28 bowlers represented this year's Special Olympics league made up of over 75 competitors!

Wabash Lanes in New Philadelphia provided this year's practice facility. Many memories were made throughout the season, and after a strong showing at the State Tournament, Shane York shared, "Today is my lucky day!"