The NHS Trojans now have a new leader. Dirk Gadd, a 1998 graduate of Newcomerstown High School, was approved for hire by the Newcomerstown Board of Education members during their March regular session. Gadd will begin his duties as the head coach for the 2017-18 school year. He will receive a stipend of $4,767.

Other extra-curricular employment was also approved was Nathan Smith, assistant track coach; Darren Warner, assistant wrestling coach; Trevor Garretson, cross country coach; Chuck Eicholtz, golf coach; Alisha Wilson, high school cheerleading advisor, basketball; Tiffany Shaw, junior high Cheerleading advisor, basketball.

Other items discussed and approved during the March 20 session included the Board approved annual membership for the Ohio School Board Association (from January-December 2017) at a cost of $4,062; a donation of $158 from the Moose Lodge #1337 was approved. The donation will be placed in special costs within the general fund; Lisa Thomas was approved for tuition reimbursement for course, Google Tools in Education, 3 semester hours from Walsh University; NHS Wall of Honor Committee recommended Robert E. Rice and Joe William Trotter, Jr. as candidates for the Wall of Honor, and the NHS Citizen's Wall of Honor Committee recommended Terry Veselenak. The ceremony is scheduled for May 15, at 6 p.m. at the High School.

The Board also approved for opt out of providing Career-Technical Education to students enrolled in seventh and eighth grade for the 2017-18 school year.

The Board approved to proceed with securing bids for an architectural firm for the construction of a Field House utilizing Lee Foundation funds honoring the agreement set forth by the late Vernon and Edith Lee.

The retirement of John Cigavic, high school English, was approved, effective for December 31, 2017.

Seth Corder was approved for transfer to curriculum/federal programs Coordinator, 3-year contract (229 days per year), at a salary of $76,000; Tim Sherman was approved as EMIS coordinator, effective for August 1, 2017-December 31, 2017; Amy Baker was approved as pre-school instructional aide at West Elementary, effective for April 20, 2017; Susan Creager was approved as multi-handicap instructional aide at the high school, effective for April 20, 2017.

The resignation of Joshua Lahmers as assistant track coach was approved, effective for February 27, 2017; Trevor Garretson and Steve Meeks were approved as volunteer track coaches; Nichole Wright was approved for five additional days for medical leave.

The following students were recognized as Student of the Month: Laynie Harvey, first grade. Phineas Argentine, second grade. Daleney Baker, third grade. Krandon Stowers, fourth grade. Kadee Williams, fifth grade. Gavin Prysi, sixth grade. Lillian Hill, seventh grade. Kaitlyn Rainsberg, eighth grade, and NHS senior, Daniel Meeks.

The next regular Board session is scheduled for April 17, 6:30 p.m. at the High School.