Newcomerstown School Board members are preparing for the 2018-19 school year, and have recently approved continuing, and supplemental contracts for the following personnel:

Kristen Casteel, Intervention specialist.

Rachel Cathey, Intervention specialist

Kendra Gerber, Guidance counselor

Andrew Hall, Vocal music teacher

Ryan Hendershot, Intervention specialist

Dustin Kennedy, Computer/ financial teacher

Hillary Kennedy, Fourth grade teacher

Katrina Miller, Intervention specialist

Alicia Moore, English teacher

Ian Morrow, Chemistry teacher

Tracy Rominger, Fifth grade teacher

Tara Schroeder, English teacher

Julian Vasquez, Spanish teacher

Ashley Brooks, Math teacher

Matt Davis, Fourth grade teacher

Julie Beitzel, Third grade teacher

Tyler Kiner, Language arts teacher

Jamie Lewis, Intervention specialist

Samantha Jones, Second grade teacher

Brittany Moore, Intervention specialist

Rebecca Depuy, Art teacher

Denise McDonnell, Intervention specialist

Ashley Parson, Third grade teacher

Steffanie Richter, Math teacher

Mark George, Reading teacher

Joel Hillwig, Music teacher

Adam Leffler, Social studies teacher

Heather Troyer, First grade teacher

Angie Cabot, Dean of students

The Board also approved the continuing contracts for the following classified personnel:

Trevor Biggs, High school study hall monitor

Mike Baker, High school instructional aide

Tanya Robinson, West school cafeteria

Jess Arth, Bus driver

Extracurricular contracts were approved for:

Alicia Moore, Volleyball coach, Junior high

Don Stevens, Cross country coach, Junior high

Tiffany Shaw, Cheerleading coach, Junior high

Supplemental contract was approved for Mike Hoskins, Assistant drama coach.

The Board approved the following volunteers for 2018-19 school year:

Chris Miller, Golf coach

Lyndsey Youngen, Volleyball coach

Beth Garretson, Cross country coach

The following contracts were also approved:

Tim Sherman, EMIS coordinator

Sascha Durben, Library/media specialist

Jason Peoples, Resident educator director

Chase Addy, Physical education

Other items discussed during the May 16 regular session included:

• A donation of $622.63 was received from the Moose Lodge #1337, and will be placed in special cost within the general fund.

• Samantha Seibert, fourth grade teacher was approved to be moved to the Master’s degree salary schedule.

• A grant application (through the Tuscarawas County Community Foundation grant) was approved for the purchase of a floor scrubber and floor burnisher.

• The Martha Holden Jennings grant was approved for $10,000 for the West Elementary to be utilized for Leader in Me program membership dues.

• The Board approved payment to Mike’s Body Shop for repairs, cost of $458.60.

• The Board approved a resolution for the Education Foundation Fund concerning the construction of a new athletic facility.

• The Board approved membership for Ohio High School Athletic Association for 2018-19.

• The Board approved membership dues of $50 to the Newcomerstown Chamber of Commerce.

• The Board approved the Muskingum Valley Education Service Center Business Advisory Council to serve as the Business Advisory Council for the Newcomerstown School District.

• Board policy updates were approved.

• The Board approved the 2018-19 school handbooks for the West & East Elementary, Middle School, High School, and Athletic Department.

The Board later entered into executive session to discuss negotiations. No action was taken.

The next session for the Newcomerstown Board of Education is scheduled for June 20, at 6 p.m. at the High School Conference Room.