Newcomerstown Mayor Patrick M. Cadle, a Republican, is the only candidate who has filed for that position in the May primary election and no one has filed for two open positions on Newcomerstown council, after the deadline for filing passed recently in the Tuscarawas County Board of Elections.

In local issues, Indian Valley Local School District has placed a 5-mill, five-year renewal levy for current expenses on the May primary ballot.

In other county election news, tax levies in the Dover and Garaway school districts and contested races for mayor in Uhrichsville and Dennison will dominate the May primary ballot in Tuscarawas County.

Wednesday, Feb. 6, was the deadline for partisan candidates to file their petitions and for governments to file tax issues to get on the ballot on May 7.

Dover and Garaway are both trying again to get voters to approve additional levies. Dover is seeking a 6.9-mill, five-year levy for emergency requirements of the district. Garaway will be placing a 4-mill, 10-year levy for emergency requirements.

Two Democrats have filed to run for mayor of Uhrichsville — Mayor Rick Dorland and Council President Mark Haney.

In Dennison, two Democrats are seeking their party’s nomination for mayor — Mayor Jeffrey W. Dryden and former Mayor Tim Still.

No Republicans have filed petitions for mayor in either community.

Partisan candidates’ names will not appear on the ballot unless their petitions are certified by the Tuscarawas County Board of Elections.

Here is a list of the candidates who have filed petitions:

Dover mayor — Richard P. Homrighausen (Republican).

Dover auditor — Nicole L. Stoldt (Democrat).

Dover law director — Douglas J. O’Meara (Democrat).

Dover Ward 1 council — Gregory M. Bair (Democrat).

Dover Ward 2 council — John W. McFadden (Republican).

Dover Ward 3 council — Sandy Moss (Democrat).

Dover Ward 4 council — Robert A. Mueller (Democrat).

New Philadelphia mayor — Joel B. Day (Republican).

New Philadelphia president of council — Donald C. Kemp (Republican).

New Philadelphia auditor — Beth Gundy (Republican).

New Philadelphia law director — no one filed.

New Philadelphia council at large— E. Dean Holland (Republican), Aimee L. May (Democrat), Kelly Ricklic (Democrat).

Uhrichsville mayor — Rick Dorland (Democrat), Mark Haney (Democrat).

Uhrichsville auditor — no one filed.

Uhrichsville law director — no one filed.

Uhrichsville Ward 1 council — no one filed.

Uhrichsville Ward 2 council — Ronald Miller (Democrat).

Uhrichsville Ward 3 council — Terry L. Warner (Democrat).

Uhrichsville Ward 4 council — Amy L. Myers (Democrat).

Dennison mayor — Jeffrey W. Dryden (Democrat), Tim Still (Democrat).

Dennison council — Tracie Bolitho (Democrat), Greg L. DiDonato (Democrat).

Tax issues on the ballot:

Perry Township — 2-mill, five-year renewal levy for general operating expenses.

Warwick Township (excluding the village of Tuscarawas) — 3-mill, five-year additional levy for general construction, reconstruction, resurfacing and repair of streets, roads and bridges in Warwick Township.

Dover City School District — 6.9-mill, five-year additional levy for the emergency requirements of the school district.

Garaway Local School District — 4-mill, 10-year additional levy for the emergency requirements of the school district.

Union Cemetery District — 1-mill, five-year renewal levy for operating and maintaining cemetery.

Village of Sugarcreek — 3.5-mill, five-year replacement levy for fire and emergency services.