Tyler McCune and Andrew Starkey, received first place and honorable mention, respectively, in a essay contest titled " What Freedom Means to Me" in Mrs. Ardath Nigro’s fifth grade social studies class at West Elementary.

Sports: The Newcomersown girls’ team won a triangular meet with 54 points to outdistance Central Catholice (46) and Mavlern (31). The Trojan’s Cydney McMillan not only won the pole vault but her leap of 8-6, set a school record as she broke the old record of 7’ by Kara Brooks.

Married: Mr. and Mrs. Robert Steinbauer, 25th anniversary, May 5.

Deaths: Betty J. Adams, 83; Robert E. (Bob) Cutshall, 81; Annabelle Fox, 94; Thelma M. Immel, 88; Dorothy E. Rank, 89; Clifford L. Wertman; James M. Worthington, 79; Robert D. Bricker, 77.



After 17-year silent seclusion, Ohio’s largest brood of cicadas numbering in the billions, to emerge mid-May.

78th Newcomerstown Chamber of Commerce banquet held with Chamber president Greg Bowman presenting the President’s Award to Newcomerstown schools PACCT and ACCT programs, the Past President Award to Charlene Kehl, and Chamber Member of the Year to Barbara Scott.

Rev. John Fraser new pastor of Newcomerstown First Baptist Church.

Jaime Shivers and Brian Warren chosen Ridgewood prom King and Queen.

Married: Lynn Therese Dunn and Matthew Ryan Nigro, June 26, 1998; Mr. and Mrs. Virgil (Ruby) Quillin, Kimbolton, 30th anniversary, May 9.

Deaths: Milan C. "Junior" McLeod, 69; John L. Watson, 74.



Knights of Columbus, John F. Kennedy Council of St. Francis deSales Church in Newcomerstown, held annual awards banquet with George Brode, president of Community Improvement Corp. and the W.M. Brode Company, named Citizen of the Year. Lois Craig received the Wise Owl award; Lou Vannucci, Knight of the Year; Alan Bambeck, Youth of the Year; Pam Altier, West Lafayette, Woman of the Year.

Port Washington Council signed agreement with Dimension Cable Service for expanded television service in the village starting July 1.

Married: Donna Kay Piatt and Keith Allen Williams, March 18.



Overflow crowd attended Newcomerstown Council meeting to voice opposition to segments of proposed zoning ordinance.

Newcomerstown Chamber of Commerce holds 59th annual banquet and presented Chief of Commerce awards to Dr. Terry Overholser of Arrowhead Clinic; Virgil Ervin of J & V Coin Corp. and Riverside Manor, and Willard Ames for local bus garage.

Patti Hoffman and J.P. Mozena named Spring Queen and King during Newcomerstown Invitational track meet at Lee Stadium. Court attendants were Dona Baker, Shelly Marlatt, Nancy Rehard, Kelly Hall, Kathy Hunt, Mike Wilkin, Jerry Addy, Mark Sheppard, Scott Holdsworth and Matt Eggleton. Newcomerstown won their Invitational with 106 points and Ridgewood was second with 92 points.

Anniversaries: Mr. and Mrs. John Wyler, Stone Creek, 50th, April 26; Mr. and Mrs. George Sherretts, Stone Creek, 65th, April 29; Mr. and Mrs. David E. Roenbaugh, Port Washington, 59th, April 19; Mr. and Mrs. Russell Myers, Cambridge, 39th.

Deaths: Albert E. Gasser, 76; Mrs. Dwight (Mary) Kitchen, 79; Floyd Smith, 62; Florence McDonald, 90.



Some 200 attend 49th Chamber of Commerce banquet here.

Rebecca Loader and Mark Mortine named valedictorian and salutatorian, respectively, at NHS.

Ed Hamsher, superintendent of Newcomerstown schools, new president of Lions Club.

Married: Mrs. Bessie Marlatt and Cliff Black; Mr. and Mrs. George Sherretts observe 55th anniversary.

Deaths: Mrs. Bessie Allen, 82; Samuel A. Bubble, 43; Charles F. Froelich, 36; Jesse White, 88.



Cecil Haver elected president of Tuscarawas County Development Committee.

Willis Haver and Lorin Berkshire named councilmen after resignation of Burton Hothem and Clifford Hosfelt.

Ralph Portz elected Lions Club president.

Deaths: Atty. John Schupp, 82; Florence Milligan, 78.



Construction begins on swimming pool.

Plane crash at West Lafayette airport fatal to Ralph Marlowe, 50.

Boy Scout Troop 27 receives charter.

Some 200 attend junior-senior banquet with Otto Beiter, speaker.

Vernon Lindberg elected president of Maplewood PTA.

$3,000 fire at home of Jerry Baird, superintendent of Port Washington schools.

Married: Miss Iona Booth and Charles Hothem; Mr. and Mrs. Olie Huff, 25th anniversary.

Deaths: Earnest Little, 70; Mrs. Sarah McEthaney, 96; Mrs. Bessie Lyons.



Picket at mine near Ostego slain in battle between strikers and non-strikers.

Some 100 WPA workers start straightening Buckhorn Creek.

Rev. D.A. Morris elected president of Rotary.

Plans slated for historical show at 125th anniversary celebration in September.



School board rehires W.B. Hayes and entire corps of teachers.

Mrs. Anna King Tidrick, 26, killed in auto accident at River St. crossing.

Mrs. Theodore Crater, 76, dies after short illness.

Barn on John Morris farm east of town burns when struck by lightning.



Auto thieves steal cars belonging to C.E. Milburn and Frank Angle.

Miss Frances Lydick and Merrell Tufford married at MP parsonage by Rev. A.E. Black.

Miss Cecille McCollum and Ray Cramlet married at home of bride’s parents, Mr. and Mrs. O.C. McCullum.