The Ravenna Lions Club held its 52nd Annual Roy Smith Memorial Junior Citizenship Awards Dinner recently at Maplewood Career Center.

Each fifth-grade teacher in the Ravenna School District chooses two students from their class to receive this prestigious award. Students are selected based on the following criteria: a pleasing personality, courteousness, honesty, neatness, generosity, classroom conduct, good sportsmanship and academic achievement.

This year's award winners are:

• Carlin Elementary: Jeriah Miller, Jaythan Strunk, Mylee Hoskinson, Nick Myers, Keira Reedy and Janayah Maddox.

• West Main Elementary: Clare Johnston, Donavan Mays, Nicole Bishop, Jonathan Josephites, Loudon White and Mason Scott.

• Willyard Elementary: Emily Scibelli, Kora Scalia, Kaidin Funk, Justin Burkholder, Sean Jordan and Corinne Pooler.

The Ravenna United Fund and the Ravenna Lions Club sponsored the event. Each student received a goody bags with coupons and small gifts from Ravenna businesses.

Lion Deborah Sunderland, event chairperson, welcomed the group of 130 people to the event. The event was opened with the group reciting the Pledge of Allegiance. The invocation was given by King Lion Larry Hurley.

Lion Dan Schaer introduced the guests and speakers; including Lions District 13 OH4 Gov. Mike Tyler, Gov. Elect Tony Deluke, PDG Jeff & 2nd VDG Carol Snyder, and representing Ravenna Schools was Ben Ribelin, director of teaching and learning K through 5.

One of the speakers was 2nd VDG Carol Snyder who spoke about the Youth Leo Lions. Leo Clubs are a youth organization of Lions Clubs International. The word "LEO" stands for Leadership, Experience and Opportunity. LEO clubs encourage youths to develop leadership qualities by participating in social service activities.

Ribelin, who was a past recipient of the award, made a tribute to Lion Roy Smith, who started the Junior Citizenship Awards Dinner in 1967. 

For more information about the Ravenna Lions, call Sunderland at 330-730-2114.