A total of 18-inches of snow fell on the area which set a record.

Local Americans show support of 1485th Transportation Unit as the 180-members were being deployed to serve as one of the land units in Operation Enduring Freedom.

Newcomerstown boys fall out of tournaments against Sandy Valley, 45-44.

Shannon Bennington of Newcomerstown is on his way to the Ohio State Wrestling Championships.

Deaths: Ralph L. Pollock, 82, Newcomerstown; Hazel I. Elliott, 86, Newcomerstown; Henry J. Stonebrook, 79, Kimbolton; and Edna G. Fortney, 90, Newcomerstown.


Ohio Department of Transportation approved installation of traffic signals at intersection of U.S. Route 36 and County Road 15.

Newcomerstown High's Fellowship of Christian Athletes circulated petitions asking state and federal government and the Supreme Court to reconsider a 1992 decision that prohibited the district from initiating a prayer at graduation.

Lady Trojan Misty McMillen broke the 1,000 career points mark in Division III sectional tournament loss to Buckeye Trail Lady Warriors 65-52 at Cambridge High.

T.J. Marlatt and Rebecca Russell were Newcomerstown High's Elks' Students of the Month.

Village of Port Washington and Salem Township Trustees formed a new fire district named Delaware Valley Fire District.

Boys' basketball: Ridgewood claimed the Orange and Black Trophy with a 76-52 win over the Trojans; Indian Valley Braves 20-0 on season with 63-60 win over Claymont and 77-56 victory over East Canton.

Deaths: Roy W. Kedigh, 83; Nellie E. Page, 85; Murrel D. Hall, 80; Earl D. Young, 81; and Curtis A. Judy Jr., 68.


Julie Hardman won the Newcomerstown High School spelling bee; Melissa Tidrick placed second, and Catherine Marlatt, third.

Bill Raach presented "Elk of the Year" award by Carl Smith exalted ruler of Newcomerstown Elks Lodge NO. 1555.

Trojans defeated by Indian Valley South Rebels 60-41 in Class A sectional tournament. Zanesville Rosecrans Bishops next opponent for the 12-9 Rebels.

Ridgewood lost 62-58 to Tusky Valley in Class AA sectional opened at River View.

Bob Welch family, Port Washington, hosting Carlos Henrique Guedes, Brazilian exchange student attending Indian Valley South High School, Gnadenhutten.

American Legion sets April 2 for annual Easter Egg Hunt at Cy Young Park.

Deaths: Johnnie Lee Kirk, infant; Mary Lou Pittenger, 53; Mrs. Ralph (Martha) Duhamel, 70; Clarence W. Shimp, 79; Miss Anna Hutcheson, 94; Mrs. John (Barbara) Hackley, 39, West Lafayette.


Newcomerstown Historical Society plans drive to purchase the Temperance House Tavern on E. Canal Street for museum site.

Paul Glazer named mayor of Port Washington, to serve out term of the late Elwood Courts.

Harold Huff, Newcomerstown, named production manager at Heller Tool.

Deaths: Mrs. Estella Gaines, 81; Mrs. John Glazer, 84; Leo K. Shalosky, 55; Emmett H. White, 84; Charles L. Pumphrey, 91.


Jacqueline McCleary crowned Newcosean Queen.

Temperature drops to 16 below zero.

Seiberling Rubber Co. of Akron announces promotion of Lester Berkshire to position of Master Mechanic of Plastics Division of Newcomerstown.

Deaths: A. Frank Wigfield, 80; Elmer Marhover, 78; Mrs. Cordelia Baker, 65; Ernest R. Tedrick, 59; Everett E. Williams, 58.


Superintendent D.R. Roeder appointed to serve as member of legislative planning committee of Ohio Superintendents.

Port Washington High School badly damaged by fire -- classes canceled.

Newcomerstown Trojans co-champions with Dennison in East Central Ohio League.

C.E. Ashelman elected chairman of Tuscarawas County Bankers Association.

William Heifner elected president of newly-formed Little League.

Robert Gray, Paul Frank and Gary Dichler of Boy Scout Troop 29, Port Washington, receive rank of Eagle Scout.

Deaths: Holden P. Walters, 74; Clarence A. Haver, 64; Mrs. Cora Sheeley, 74; Charles Miller, 85.


Trojans end basketball season with 11 wins and two defeats.

2,713 ration books are issued in two days.

Mr. and Mrs. Roy Welsh buy the Miskimen property on W. State Street.

Newcomerstown experiences first dim-out. More to come.

Council decides town will remain on Eastern Standard Time.


Sterling Specialty Co. issues $30,000 in bonds.

Richard Parish & Lamson highest bidders for the $125,000 bond for new high school building.

City Council provides funds to fight bootleggers.

E.B. Chapman sworn in as member of school board succeeding Henry Croston, resigned.