Five players from Newcomerstown earned recognition on the Inter-Valley Conference boys' and girls' basketball all-star teams for 2008-09.

For the Newcomerstown boys, senior Chase Addy was a first team selection; senior J.C. Rine gained second team honors and junior Caleb Rankin was an honorable mention pick.

For the Lady Trojans, sophomore Steph Felton was named to the second team while fellow sophomore Chelsea Fenton gained honorable mention recognition.

Also on first team for the boy's division was Ridgewood senior Jared Kreitzer while the General's Thomas Ellis, a sophomore, was tabbed for honorable mention.

On the girl's side, Ridgewood senior Ashley Patterson and junior Courtney Babcock earned second team laurels while junior Maggie Nagle landed honorable mention.

Malvern's Tyler Tucci was named "Player of the Year" for the boys, with Mark Schlabach of league champion Hiland as "Coach of the Year".

For the girls, Hannah Patchan of Tuscarawas Central Catholic gained "Player of the Year" laurels and Dave Schlabach of league champion Hiland earned "Coach of the Year".

Here's the complete Inter-Valley Conference basketball all-stars:


First Team

Colten Hostetler and Dylan Kaufman, Hiland; Tyler Tucci, Malvern; Craig Sewell, Strasburg; Jordan Tozzi, Sandy Valley; Paul Honigford, Garaway; Chase Addy, Newcomerstown; Jared Kreitzer, Ridgewood.

Second Team

Colton Troyer, Hiland; Cody Welker, Sandy Valley; Adam Wackerly, Malvern; Seger Bonifant, Strasburg; David Gerber, Garaway; Jimmy Fickes, Tuscarawas Central Catholic; Nikola Knezevic, Conotton Valley; J.C. Rine, Newcomerstown.

Honorable Mention

Noah Boyd, Hiland; Nick Palleschi, Malvern; Jon Shaw, Strasburg; Caleb Rankin, Newcomerstown; Thomas Ellis, Ridgewood; Zack Ray, Sandy Valley; Caleb Hostetler, Garaway; Brandon Sweet, Tuscarawas Central Catholic; Shawn Ball, Conotton Valley.


First Team

Hilary Weaver and Katelyn Stuckey, Hiland; Hannah Patchan, Tuscarawas Central Catholic; Abby Gooding, Conotton Valley; Kristen Troyer and Kenzie Kaufman, Garaway; Carly Clark, Strasburg; Danielle Grooms, Sandy Valley.

Second Team

Karli Mast, Hiland; Sarah Bardall, Garaway; Santana Bonifant, Strasburg; Ashley Patterson and Courtney Babcock, Ridgewood; Mary Lawless and Millie Patchan, Tuscarawas Central Catholic; Carli Nicholson, Sandy Valley; Stephany Felton, Newcomerstown.

Honorable Mention

Andi Kettlewell, Garaway; Noelle Yoder, Hiland, Chelsea Fenton, Newcomerstown; Carly Gooding, Conotton Valley; Abby Froman, Strasburg; Morgan McKinney, Malvern; Maggie Nagle, Ridgewood; Mary Burnham, Tuscarawas Central Catholic; Brittany Tindall, Sandy Valley