Sandy Valley claimed the team championship for the ninth straight year at the Inter-Valley Conference wrestling tournament hosted by Newcomerstown High School last Saturday. The Cardinals finished with 326.5 points, just one-half point ahead of runner up Garaway.

The Pirates came in with 326 points followed by 3. Ridgewood (213); 4. Malvern (125.5); 5. Newcomerstown (121.5); and 6. Tuscarawas Central Catholic (81.5).

Host Newcomerstown claimed a pair of individual champions. Junior Marcus Mardis claimed the 145-pound championship with four pins during the tournament while fellow junior Brian Beckett won the 125-pound division with two pins.

The Trojans also had junior Casey Dressler finish as runner-up in the 112-pound class while senior Clint Foraker (189), junior Clayton McAfee (215) and junior Nate Watson (285) each earned fourth place.

Ridgewood came through with two champions as senior Nate Anderson took the 160 pound division with one pin while senior Jake Conrad did the same at 171 with two pins. Picking up second place for the Generals were junior Jarod Conrad (145) with three pins and sophomore Jake Zeigler (152) with two pins. Third place finishers included sophomore Dan Burch (103), freshman Michelle Fellows (112), freshman Ryan Cognion (130), junior Jay McVay (140) and senior Zak Mencer (215).

The Cardinals had five individual weight class champions, including Luke Lehmiller (103), Eric Cassidy (112), Dutch Kirkman (135), Billy Natale (140) and Zak Monte (152). Sandy Valley also picked up five runner-up spots.

The Pirates had four champions, including Tyler Snyder (119), Tristan Gerber (130), Eric Schie (189), and Danny Richards (285). Rounding out the title winners was Bryan Adams (215) of TCC.

Anderson (Ridgewood) and Richards (Garaway) were named Co-Wrestlers of the Year while Garaway coach Cedric Gerber was IVC Coach of the Year.