Three Nc'town players receive all-star honors

The District 5 Basketball Coaches Association announced its 2009-2010 boys' basketball all-star selections.

Three players from Newcomerstown were among the selections. Sophomore Matt Ayres gained first team honors in Division III, senior Cameron Wolf was tabbed on the second unit, and senior Caleb Rankin received honorable mention.

For Ridgewood, who is also in Division III, Evan Jones was on the first team, Thomas Ellis made the second team, and Tanner Stoffer was honorable mention.

Indian Valley's Division II squad included Adam Mizer on the first team and Tanner Eckstein on the third unit.

Player of the Year choices went to Dave Brown of Coshocton in Division II and Paul Honigford of Garaway in Division III.

The Coach of the Year picks included Alan Keese of Ridgewood in Division III and in Division II, Bob Von Kaenel of Dover, Matt Voll of Carrollton and Justin Clifford of Harrison Central shared the honor.

Here's a look at the District 5 Basketball Coaches Association boys' all-star team for 2009-2010:

Division III

First Team

Matt Ayres, Newcomerstown; Paul Honigford, Garaway; Evan Jones, Ridgewood; Clay Shetler, Tuscarawas Valley; Cody Welker, Sandy Valley.

Second Team

Thomas Ellis, Ridgewood; Zach Mozden, Sandy Valley; Brennan Mullet, Garaway; Ryan Troyer, Garaway; Cameron Wolf, Newcomerstown.

Honorable Mention

John Graham, Tuscarawas Valley; Caleb Rankin, Newcomerstown; Hunter Shaw, Garaway; Tanner Stoffer, Ridgewood; Nick Williams, Sandy Valley.

Player of the Year

Paul Honigford, Garaway.

Coach of the Year

Alan Keesee, Ridgewood.

Division II

First Team

David Brown, Coshocton; Kristian Cross, Carrollton; Ryker Locke, Minerva; Travis Lynch, Beaver Local; Dom McCluskey, Coshocton; Anthony Monaco, Dover; Joe Rine, Buckeye Local; John Stephenson, New Philadelphia; Marky Thompkins, East Liverpool; Daniel Wise, Claymont.

Second Team

Kyle Blanchard, Harrison Central; Cody Cox, New Philadelphia; Kyle Dummermuth, Dover; Brian Harp, Minerva; Johnny Lowdermilk, Carrollton; Marcus Mamarella, Dover; Dwight Macon, Steubenville; Adam Mizer, Indian Valley; Niko Otto, Indian Creek; Stewart Sabine, West Holmes; Christian Taylor, Coshocton.

Honorable Mention

Michael Blankenship, East Liverpool; Zach Bonds, Buckeye Local; Aaron Cox, Claymont; Ian Drapcho, Dover; Tanner Eckstein, Indian Valley; Damien Elifritz, Minerva; A.J. Dalton, Carrollton; Jason Hammond, River View; DeMichael Johnson, Steubenville; Keaton Leppla, West Holmes; Drew Phillips, Harrison Central Mark Smyth, Edison; Brandon Taylor, Coshocton; Mow Mow Thompson, Beaver Local; Michael Wayt, Indian Creek.

Player of the Year

Dave Brown, Coshocton

Coaches of the Year

Bob Von Kaenel, Dover; Matt Voll, Carrollton; Justin Clifford, Harrison Central.