Newcomerstown's Matt Ritzert was recently elected President of the East Ohio Interscholastic Athletic Administrators Association.

The announcement was made during the association's annual conference held at Atwood Yacht Club. Other officers include Dover's Kevin Keffer as vice president along with George Hemming, Coshocton, secretary; Joe Dasch, Steubenville, treasurer; Dave Bell, Zanesville, state rep.; and Tom Farbizo, New Philadelphia, OIAAA.

Ritzert was also presented with the award of NIAAA Distinguished Service (inside). Other awards presented were: Athletic Director of the Year, John Hurst, Tusky Valley; Hall of Fame, Rick Higdon, Maysville; NIAAA Distinguished Service (outside) Chuck Rest; State Award of Merit, Erik Beun, Hiland; Kovelski Professional Development, Tom Farbizo, New Philadelphia; Horizon Award, Eric Seibert, Claymont; Service Award, Ted Gorman, Steubenville; Sportsmanship Ethics Integrity, George Hemming, Coshocton; Meritorious Service, Dan Adams, John Glenn; and Media Award, Adam Mackey, WBTC.