COLUMBUS - The Ohio High School Athletic Association's Sportsmanship, Ethics and Integrity (SEI) Committee has announced that 30 member schools, including Newcomerstown High School, have been selected to receive school sportsmanship awards from the 2013-14 academic year.

The 30 schools met the 'Respect the Game Challenge,' while 10 of those schools also earned the Harold A. Meyer Award. In addition, Columbus Bishop Watterson High and Lakewood High have been selected to receive the highest award, which is the prestigious Commissioner's Award.

The list of recipients was accepted by the OHSAA Board of Directors at its regularly scheduled meeting Oct. 16.

In order to meet the 'Respect the Game Challenge,' schools must complete a comprehensive checklist that confirms the various sportsmanship, ethics and integrity programs within their school. Besides developing a well-planned, educational program on sportsmanship, the form reminds schools to develop a comprehensive student-athlete campaign; a coaches campaign; a student body, student support group, parents and fan campaign; and a public address announcers campaign. Schools that have met the challenge receive a "Respect The Game" banner that can be displayed in a prominent area of the school. Repeat winners receive the numerals corresponding to the year(s) the award has been earned.

Meeting the 'Respect The Game Challenge' is the precursor to being considered for the Harold A. Meyer Award. That award, named in honor of the late OHSAA commissioner from 1969-77, is presented to schools that demonstrate via a PowerPoint presentation they have completed an eight-part program that promotes sportsmanship, ethics and integrity in their schools and communities.

The following is the list of schools that have been selected for the awards:

2013-14 Commissioner's Award, Harold A. Meyer Award

and Respect the Game Challenge Recipients

High Schools - Columbus Bishop Watterson, Lakewood

2013-14 Harold A. Meyer Award

and Respect the Game Challenge Recipients

High Schools - Amelia, Coshocton, Hamilton Ross, Cincinnat St. Ursula, Stow-Munroe Falls, West Holmes,

Middle Schools - Dublin John Sells, Cincinnati Sycamore, Ashville Teays Valley East, Commercial Popint Teays Valley West

2013-14 Respect the Game Challenge Recipients

High Schools - Newcomerstown, Alliance, Amherst Steele, Trenton Edgewood, Grandview Heights, Garrettsville Garfield, Johnstown-Monroe, Kenston, Cincinnati LaSalle, Cincinnati Mariemont, Norwood, Olentangy Liberty, Streetsboro, Cincinnati Wyoming (high schools)

Middle Schools - Bowling Green, Lakewood Garfield, Lakewood Harding, Cincinnati Nagel.